Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Star Trek: Ascendancy» Forums » Rules

Subject: Development priority + warp advancement questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
James Buckley
United Kingdom
LONDON
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello
Second game today. Good game and came down to the very last command order over who would win - either the Rom on Ascendancy or Klingon on Supremacy - Rom won by reconquering Romulus (sadly for me this was between the other two players).
Two questions came up that I would appreciate clarification on if the hive-mind can help:
1) Development Priority Order. If - for example - a warp level 2 civ is found on a system, and that system has two empty production nodes and one empty research node, do the two resource nodes the civ offers have to be used on the production nodes, since you must always fill nodes in priority order when there is space to do so? Or is the development priory order consecutive, so the second node filled is research, even if that would mean leaving one of the research nodes empty? (If the former than this would mean that you could only fill the research node on this system if you drew a warp level 3 civ - correct)?
2)If you have completed an advancement with a warp token benefit can this warp be applied in the command phase? So any ship put into warp can jump two systems (or more depending on the number of advancements you have offering this). The alternative option being that it is just added in the recharge phase to any ships in warp alongside the additional warp they automatically receive.
Thanks for any thoughts.
James
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
k c
msg tools
mbmb
As I understand the rules:

1) open nodes will always be production nodes when developing a warp-capable civilization. The Ardana example (pg16): "Ardana has 1 Production, 1 Research and 1 Open Capacity. It's possible to develop 2 Production Nodes, since Ardana has both a Production and an Open site. The Production Capacity is developed first, then a Research Node is places as a third node."

2) The warp icons from advancements are available immediately upon finishing the research, and would affect ships already at warp.
You don't physically add warp tokens to ships from advancement warp icons. Exiting Warp (Pg11): "move through a number of Systems equal to the Warp Tokens accumulated, plus the number of Warp Tokens pictured on your completed Advancements."
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Buckley
United Kingdom
LONDON
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
k c
Thanks! Yes, the rules are clear on both now you've pointed it out, nice one.
James
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.