Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Mansions of Madness: Second Edition» Forums » Rules

Subject: MoM2 questions... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Scott M.
United States
Winter Springs
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Heya, had a few questions today...

1. When a test/attack targets the lowest stat investigator, and both investigators are equal in stat, do both suffer the attack/test?

2. Is "in range" mean 3 areas away... as long as not passing through doors or walls?, this is in reference to terror checks and attacks that say in range.

In the app I saw different items...
Assume @ is the eye symbol...

So I saw during test the following..

(@)
(@+1)
(@-1)
(@: 2)

And
(@: 1)

Is not the last one the same as (@)? Or am I missing something?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mark selleck
Australia
Alice Springs
NT
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
atraangelis wrote:
Heya, had a few questions today...

1. When a test/attack targets the lowest stat investigator, and both investigators are equal in stat, do both suffer the attack/test?

2. Is "in range" mean 3 areas away... as long as not passing through doors or walls?, this is in reference to terror checks and attacks that say in range.

In the app I saw different items...
Assume @ is the eye symbol...

So I saw during test the following..

(@)
(@+1)
(@-1)
(@: 2)

And
(@: 1)

Is not the last one the same as (@)? Or am I missing something?


1. You get to choose the one who takes the test though we have been choosing the investigator randomly.

2. Yep is 3 hexes, I think under range in the rules reference book it talks about this.

3. The last one you listed means 1 success is needed to pass, the first one you listed it just saying to roll against that stat, the rest of the text should then tell you what to do, I think normally these tests are when you record your success in the app then you find out if you passed in the app

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Here are the appropriate rules quotes:

RRG - Conflicts (p2) wrote:
It is possible for a game effect to have more than one possible
outcome. In such a case, investigators as a group determine the
outcome of that effect.


RRG - Range wrote:
The range of effects that use the phrase “within range” is up to three
spaces away.
• Range cannot be counted through walls or doors unless an effect
specifically allows it.
• Range can be counted through impassable borders.


RRG - Test wrote:
• A test declaration may include a number separated from the
skill icon by a semicolon. This is the test difficulty. The test
difficulty indicates the test result required to pass the test. If
the test result is less than the test difficulty, the investigator
fails the test.


As Mark points out, the key difference between (@;1) and (@) is that (@;1) will have a pass/fail result, while (@) will not have a pass/fail result and will likely only rely on a calculation based on the number of successes rolled.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grey Fox
Portugal
Sintra
Sintra
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
(@)
Roll for @

(@+1)
Roll for @ using one more dice than usual.

(@-1)
Roll for @ using one less dice than usual.

(@: 2)
Roll for @ and pass if you get 2 or more elder signs.

(@: 1)
Roll for @ and pass if you get 1 or more elder signs.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott M.
United States
Winter Springs
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks all , totaly makes sence.

We played my first question wrong. As i could not find the rule for that as was pointed out, so all investigators got hammered. This wil make our next game easier.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.