Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Harry Potter: Hogwarts Battle» Forums » Rules

Subject: STUNNED at the end of your turn *game 5 spoilers rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Paulina Binder
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
Hello all,
Quick question about game 5,
Spoiler warning if necessary!

If Umbridge stuns you when you buy a card and you are at 1 health and you have no cards in your hand, does it carry over to your next turn and you heal to max at the end of your turn? Or do you lose half of 0 and return to max at the end of your current turn? In this way the only penalty for stunning your self would be the addition of the dark mark.
So in this situation is it:
A) you are stunned immediately when you acquire a card, losing half of your cards (0 if you've played them all), lose tokens (that you've already spent), add a dark mark to the location, draw to 5 cards, the reset to 10 health?
B) the same as above only you draw 5 cards then discard down to half? Reset to 10 heath at the end of next persons turn?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Distad
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe A is correct. The Stunned effect, which includes card discards, happens immediately and the reset to 10 health comes at the end of the turn - which likely means during or after Step 4 of the turn order. The very last listed part of Step 4 is to draw 5 cards. So, once your turn is over, and you've resolved all the other Step 4 effects, (for example, revealing a new villain) you recover from stun, reset health to 10 and draw 5 cards.

At least, this is how we've played it so far.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Niek Roels
Belgium
Adegem (Maldegem)
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
I'd say that adding the dark mark is the bad stuff that happens because of our dear Umbridge in that situation.
Or if you were planning to buy more cards, you're doomed aswell (let's say that you were smart enough to first assign the attack before buying a card -> another danger in sleepy times when you're standing before Umbridge!).

This goes along with situation A.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Jones
United States
Wilsonville
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
A is correct. Umbridge attacks during Step Three. As Eric pointed out, drawing cards occurs in Step Four. There is nothing in the rule book that implies the stun penalty would be delayed and carried over into the next step. There was another thread where we talked about timing and the strategy tip here, as you've already mentioned, is that if you are going to do something that will get you stunned on Step Three, you most likely will want to play your hand out first and use as many resources as you can, then take the stunning action.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.