Subject: General questions before buying/playing EMPIRE OF THE SUN rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Maik L.
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmb
Hello everyone,

normally I would not hesitate to just buy a game I really want to play but since most comments on the game underline that is quite hard to learn I thought it would be good to just ask in the forums for more specific opinions.

So I have been playing games like WAR OF THE RING, TWILIGHT STRUGGLE, ARKHAM HORROR, GAME OF THRONES, TERRA MYSTICA etc. and I have some experience when it comes to long roleplaying manuals. The one thing I gave up on years ago was the rules to ADVANCED THIRD REICH. Based on these bits of info how would you rank the difficulty of EMPIRE OF THE SUN for me? Of course I am willing to learn a game and how to play it (including continuing try-outs, re-checking rules, adjustments of strategy etc. - the normal stuff) yet I would not go as far as "studying" a game.

Since I would play EMPIRE OF THE SUN as a two-player-game the other questions I have concern its downtime. Do individual playerturns/actions take a long time or are they quite fast like in some of the above mentioned games? And while I am on the 2 player topic: Is the game teachable in a good way?

It would be great to hear something about these questions from the users!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
POUM
Sweden
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
First, I've only played it solo.

In my opinion, this is not a easy game. It takes some reading and rereading of the rules. The many videos online helps a lot. Same with forums and manuals here on BGG. I say you have to assort to "studying the game". Then again, it's a great game. I enjoyed it a lot.

Weight: 4.13 / 5 (Complexity Rating) here on BGG.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gerrit Hellfaier
Germany
Berlin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Send you an PN (in german)
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David E
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
Boardgame Aesthete