Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Mage Knight Board Game: The Lost Legion Expansion» Forums » Rules

Subject: In Need clarification "on a Unit" rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Leo S.
Chile
Valdivia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Lost Legion version of "In Need" says:
Get an additional Influence X for each Wound card in your hand and/or on a Unit you control.

My question is why does it give Influence X for each Wound on each Unit?
Doesn't it say "a Unit", so shouldn't Wounds be counted maximum on ONE unit you control?

Am I misunderstanding the English language or is it bad written?

Thanks in advance
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alison Mandible
United States
Cambridge
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
"Each wound on each unit" would be more precise, but is slightly more awkward English.

"A" can totally mean "each"/"any" there. When a game says "each player who owns a farm receives 5 coins of income", it doesn't mean "pick one farm and its owners get income"-- it means "each player who owns any farm". I agree the Mage Knight wording is ambiguous, so I guess yeah, it's badly written? But it's not a mistake.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christoph M.
Germany
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Units can have two wounds (poison).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevin Beattie
United States
Eugene
Oregon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The object of that sentence is “each Wound card”. The prepositional modifier “in your hand and/or on a Unit you control” applies to “each Wound card”, thus excluding Wound cards on other players’ Units, in other players’s hands, in your discard pile, etc. So the sentence is correct as written.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Bauer
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Chris Coyote wrote:
Units can have two wounds (poison).

I don't think you got the question
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.