Wim Magermans
Belgium
flag msg tools
mb
I'm going to get City of Ancients this weekend.

Reading and watching videos online, I'm sure I'm going to like this game a lot (Yes I know there is a lot of dice rolling!).

I would like to know which expansions I should/can get that doesn't change the core game, or add more rules in the base game.

This way I have a bigger variety from the beginning (so probably monsters expansion?).

Thanks!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Klutz
Canada
Quebec
flag msg tools
I am a "certified" art critic.
badge
I am a professional BGG commenter.
mbmbmbmbmb

AFAIK, none of the expansions change the core game other than the Expanded Frontier Town.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matteo B.
Italy
Genova
flag msg tools
All right. Then, fine. The title is "Cheese Song". Eh-hem. Hn... Here I go:
badge
Pizza mozzarella~ ♪ Pizza mozzarella~ ♪ Rella Rella Rella Rella~ ♪ Rella Rella Rella Rella~ ♪ Rella Rella Rella Rella~ ♪ Pizza mozzarella~ ♪
mbmbmbmbmb
To be precise even the Frontier Town expansion changes the rules of travels and the ones of the town stay, even if only slightly. With this the travel hazards are more frequent, you can become wanted/most wanted and you can get unwanted attention from the locals.

In my opinion every expansion adds so few rules that you can simply choose according to your preferences: if you want more variety of a monster enemies, if you want new alien worlds to explore and artifacts that you can get or if you want to deepen the parts purely "West" of the town. Consider that every expansion, even those of the enemy, they have new dedicated missions stretching the playability.

The advice of Klutz remains great, the city offers a unique experience, but personally I found in it slightly complex rules (coverage, roofs, doors and windows etc.) than, for example, Caverns of Cynder that adds in fact only the burning and the hellfire markers.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J M
United States
Scottdale