Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

A Game of Thrones: The Board Game (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Ships in Ports rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tiago Soares
Ireland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi all! I have a question on ships in a port.

Whenever someone has ships in a port they control can those ships be used
to defend an enemy attack?
And if we're attacking a neighbor territory can we use those as attack force?

Say Lanisport has 1 knight and 1 pawn and 2 ships in the port.
If someone attacks Lanisport is it defense power 5 (2 + 1 + (1 + 1)) or 3?
Or if the troops in Lanisport decide to attack a neighbor territory is it attack power 5 (2 + 1 + (1 + 1)) or 3?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob D
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
From the rulebook (p. 25):

Orders in Ports
Just as units in normal areas, Ship units in a Port area must
receive an Order token during the Assign Orders step of the
Planning Phase. While Defense orders may be placed on a Port,
they have no effect as Ports cannot be attacked directly.

Other Port Rules
Ship units in a Port may support a combat in the adjacent
sea area but may not support a combat in any adjacent
land area (not even in its connected land area). Ship
units in a Port provide no defensive Combat Strength to a
combat in its connected land area.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Eddy
United States
Juneau
Alaska
flag msg tools
Avatar
Ahh Ships in Ports. Among the most cumbersome rules in gaming that I always have to research, no matter how many times I've played Game of Thrones.

Looks like Rob D has you covered though.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Lodge
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We use this 1 page print out to help with our games.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0BzUqoUE_JiOuQWxqOEJkcXduNT...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Amin
Canada
flag msg tools
http://podcastoficeandfire.com/
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mitchiemasha wrote:
We use this 1 page print out to help with our games.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0BzUqoUE_JiOuQWxqOEJkcXduNT...


Took a quick glance, looks good overall, good house rule for over stars. Couple of potential errors noted below.

Spoiler (click to reveal)
Siege units can attack other areas, they just go in with base attack zero. I figure your group knows that but it could be misread by someone else.

Units in an area with a March order may move to different, adjacent areas, all together and/or stay behind... but, initiate only 1 combat, the last move of the order. -> Not correct anymore according to the most current (last I checked unless there has been a change) email ruling, can move in first and resolve combat at end:

Quote:
Combat (and all of its subsequent steps) does not occur until all units utilizing that March order fulfill their movement. Thus, you can move units into an area containing enemy units and then, using the same March order, move other units into a friendly area all before actually playing out the combat in the first area moved into.
from [https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/927319/move-order-clarifica...]




1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.