Recommend
138 
 Thumb up
 Hide
173 Posts
1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5  Next »  [7] | 

Terraforming Mars» Forums » Rules

Subject: Official FAQ / rules clarifications rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: Terraforming_Mars [+] Errata_Terraforming_Mars [+] [View All]
Jacob Fryxelius
Sweden
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
1) 3 common rules confusions:

- You have an unlimited number of actions each generation, but may only take 1 or 2 at a time (your turn). After the other players’ turns, you get a new turn. Only if you passed (did no action on your turn) you are out and may not have any more turns during that action phase.

- Setup: Choose your starting cards at the same time as you choose your corporation card (Choosing a Beginner corporation must be done before seeing the cards though).

- Variants:
The standard game variant does not use the Corporate Era cards [CE]and the players start with 1 production of each resource, plus what the chosen corporation gives.
The Corporate Era (CE) variant adds all [CE] corporations and project cards to the game, and players start with 0 production of each resource, plus what the chosen corporation gives.
Beginner Corporations are not a game variant; they may be used by new players in any game variant (standard or CE) in place of choosing corporation from 2 and starting hand from 10.
Draft may be used together with any game variant (standard or CE). You do not draft the starting 10 cards, and draft is not used in solo play.
Solo play always uses the CE variant, so the CE cards are added to the game, and you start with 0 production, plus what the chosen corporation gives you. When playing solo, you don’t use the Beginner Corporations or draft.


2) List of other topics

Blue cards with actions
Blue cards with actions can only be used once per generation (mark them as used with your player marker until the production phase). If a card has more than one action, you must choose which one to use. Any cost before the arrow must be paid first, then the effect after the arrow is performed similar to when you play a card, and with the same restrictions, meaning you must be able to perform the effect in full, except for raising an already maxed out global parameter (oxygen, temperature or ocean), or removing opposing resources, or adding resources you can't collect (see 'Playing a card - requirements' below). If you can’t perform the effect (or pay the cost), then you can’t take this action.

Cards trigger their own effects
A card’s tags may often trigger the card’s own effect while being played. For example, Decomposers adds a resource to itself when being played because of its microbe tag triggering the card effect.

Cumulative effects
Effects are in general cumulative. A card can potentially trigger several effects, and each single effect of a card may trigger. Discounts are cumulative, but a cost may not go below zero.

End of game greenery tiles
After the last production phase players may, in the preserved player order, convert plants into one or more greenery tiles. The greenery tiles are paid for (with 8 plants each) and placed one at a time, triggering placement bonuses and other effects before the next tile is placed. When that player can't place more greenery tiles, the next player goes. After every player has had a chance to place greenery tiles, end game scoring begins.

No exact requirements
A requirement box (next to the card’s cost) that doesn’t explicitly say ‘max’ is automatically a minimum requirement. For example, ‘requires 3 oceans’ means that you can play the card if there are at least 3 ocean tiles in play. There are no ‘exact requirements’.

No negative costs
A cost may never be negative. If a card costing 1 MC and is discounted by 2, you will pay 0 MC for it, not -1 MC (whatever that is).

Order of triggered effects
If several effects or triggers are to be performed at the same time, the acting player chooses the order. If it is not in the action phase, the first player chooses order.

Playing a card - requirements
In order to play a card, you must 1) fulfill any requirement, 2) be able to perform all the direct effects of the card (with the 3 exceptions below), and 3) pay for the card.
A card may be played even if it * raises a global parameter that is already maxed out, * removes resources from any player and they don’t have enough or you don’t want to target them, or it * adds resources (usually animals or microbes) to a card but you don’t have a card that can collect them. In all those cases, simply do as much as you can and disregard these parts.
1st edition errata: Page 10 in the rulebook states another exception; that you don’t need to be able to place a stated tile. This is wrong – any tile placed by the card must be placed unless it is an ocean tile and they are all placed already (per the global parameter exception mentioned above).

Removing resources optional
Effects that remove your own resources are mandatory, while effects that remove resources from any player (marked by a red border around the resource icon) are voluntary and may be performed in full, in part or not at all. Only one player or card may be targeted at a time with the effects of a card. Removing production is always mandatory.

Reserved areas
There are 12 blue areas reserved for ocean and 3 areas reserved for specific cities. No other tiles may be placed there unless specifically stated.

Reshuffle the deck
Addition: The deck is reshuffled from the discard pile if it becomes empty.

Solo endgame
The game ends after 14 full generations. In order to win you must finish the terraforming before the extra round of converting plants into greenery tiles. Only games you win are scored (after the extra placement of greenery tiles).

Solo setup
Randomly place 2 neutral cities and greeneries. Terraform rating starts at 14 instead of 20. Corporate Era is used: add all [CE] cards and start with 0 production, plus what the chosen corporation gives you.

Tags on event cards
They are active and may trigger effects while being played, but are not counted after this, neither during the game or during end game scoring (they may still give end game VP if they contain a VP icon).

Tiles can’t stack
Addition: A tile can never be placed on top of another tile.

What cards can collect resources?
Addition: Only cards that explicitly can use the resources on them may collect such resources. Examples of uses are spending them in an action or getting VPs for them.
Viral Enhancers may, for example, not collect resources because it doesn’t do anything with resources. So the triggered resource gained from its microbe tag will instead be a plant resource as stated on the card.

3) List of cards

Capital (white tile)
This tile is only placed by the Capital card, not by Noctis City, Phobos Space Haven, or Ganymede colony. Those cards place normal city tiles as indicated by their icons. Capital has a special tile (that counts as a city tile) because it scores adjacent ocean tiles, in addition to the normal scoring of adjacent greenery tiles.

Ecoline effect
Ecoline’s effect is not an action, and so may be used any number of times during the generation. It is an effect that alters the plant conversion action on the player board, making it cheaper to use.

Inventrix and Tharsis Republic first action
These corporations have a pre-defined first action, meaning that the first of your two allowed actions on your first turn in the first action phase is used for this purpose. You may use the second action for that turn normally, if you want.

Robotic Workforce
Can only target a card with the building tag, and it only copies that card's production box, not other effects. Any decreases of production stated in that box must also be performed.
It can not copy a production box that is part of an action or effect on the upper panel on a blue card; only a production box on the lower panel of a card with the building tag.

Search For Life
1stedition errata: Should read: “Reveal and discard...”

Small Asteroid
1st edition errata: There should be a ‘-‘ before the plant icons on this card. The text is correct. This is a promo card not included in the base game.

UNMI action
UNMI works exactly like a blue card with an action; it may be used only once per generation.

Self-Replicating Robots
The cards on SRR are not yet in play, and so the resources on them do not contribute towards the Excentric Award on the Hellas map. Nor can you add resources to them via other cards. Thematically, these 'resources' are not resources but represent your construction progress.



  • [+] Dice rolls
Sam Carroll
United States
Urbana
Illinois
flag msg tools
Soli Deo Gloria!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
Blue Card Actions
Can only be used once per generation (mark them as used until the production phase). Any cost before the arrow must be payed first, then the effect after the arrow is performed similar to when you play a card, and with the same restrictions. If you can’t perform the effect, then you can’t take this action.


I think you need to clarify which exceptions, if any, apply here.
(* raises a global parameter that is already maxed out, * removes resources from any player and they don’t have enough or you don’t want to target them, or it * adds resources (usually animals or microbes) to a card but you don’t have a card that can collect them)

For example, I believe I remember reading that you can still use Steelworks's action once oxygen is maxed out. However, I doubt you can use Predators if no one has any animals.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paulo Renato
Portugal
Vila Nova Gaia
Porto
flag msg tools
I run through Rahdo's Runthroughs and make right what once went wrong (via annotations)
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for this... very clear and helpful... still have one question regarding the following:

Fryxen wrote:


End of game greenery tiles
After the last production phase players may, in the preserved player order, convert plants into one or more greenery tiles, one at a time. The placements may give placement bonuses and other triggers that can affect Awards and may even give you enough plants to place even more greenery tiles. After a player is finished placing greenery tiles, the next player goes. After every player has had a chance to place greenery tiles, end game scoring begins.



I'm not sure on how to play this... both parts that I highlighted seem to contradict each other...

The first highlight seems to say that in player order each player places 1 Greenery tile and then the next player goes and so on until players have placed all the Greenery tiles they want to place.

The second highlight seems to imply that each player places ALL the Greenery tiles they want to place and once they are finished it's the next player turn to place all the greenery tiles he wants and so on until all players have performed this action.

So, to be clear, is it:
1- Each player, in turn order, places 1 Greenery Tile and this continues until all the players have placed all the Greenery tiles they want

2- Starting with the first player and continue in turn order, each player may place all the Greenery tiles they want/can and then it's the next player turn to do the same
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sebastian Stückl
Germany
flag msg tools
mb
spartax wrote:
Quote:
Blue Card Actions
Can only be used once per generation (mark them as used until the production phase). Any cost before the arrow must be payed first, then the effect after the arrow is performed similar to when you play a card, and with the same restrictions. If you can’t perform the effect, then you can’t take this action.


I think you need to clarify which exceptions, if any, apply here.
(* raises a global parameter that is already maxed out, * removes resources from any player and they don’t have enough or you don’t want to target them, or it * adds resources (usually animals or microbes) to a card but you don’t have a card that can collect them)

For example, I believe I remember reading that you can still use Steelworks's action once oxygen is maxed out. However, I doubt you can use Predators if no one has any animals.


Perhaps a clarification would be nice indeed.
For that matter, all exceptions apply, but only to the effects of a blue card action(and playing cards). All costs must be paid, always, and no exceptions apply to them, same as when playing a card. For that reason, only the global parameter exception has real applications (Edit: when using an action), since there are no actions that remove resources as an effect, and using an action that won't add resources anywhere is usually pointless.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sebastian Stückl
Germany
flag msg tools
mb
Muse23PT wrote:
Thanks for this... very clear and helpful... still have one question regarding the following:

Fryxen wrote:


End of game greenery tiles
After the last production phase players may, in the preserved player order, convert plants into one or more greenery tiles, one at a time. The placements may give placement bonuses and other triggers that can affect Awards and may even give you enough plants to place even more greenery tiles. After a player is finished placing greenery tiles, the next player goes. After every player has had a chance to place greenery tiles, end game scoring begins.



I'm not sure on how to play this... both parts that I highlighted seem to contradict each other...

The first highlight seems to say that in player order each player places 1 Greenery tile and then the next player goes and so on until players have placed all the Greenery tiles they want to place.

The second highlight seems to imply that each player places ALL the Greenery tiles they want to place and once they are finished it's the next player turn to place all the greenery tiles he wants and so on until all players have performed this action.

So, to be clear, is it:
1- Each player, in turn order, places 1 Greenery Tile and this continues until all the players have placed all the Greenery tiles they want

2- Starting with the first player and continue in turn order, each player may place all the Greenery tiles they want/can and then it's the next player turn to do the same


The first highlighted text section means that the conversion into greenery tiles happens one greenery tile at a time.
Your 2nd interpretation is correct,
player 1 places a greenery, then another greenery, and so on, until he no longer wishes to continue. Then, player 2 does the same, and so on, until each player had the chance to convert plants to greenery tiles.

Sebastian
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Cohn
United States
Racine
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Bastinator1 wrote:
player 1 places a greenery (tile), then another greenery, and so on, until he no longer (can or) wishes to continue. Then, player 2 does the same, and so on, until each player had the chance to convert plants to greenery tiles (if desired).

Sebastian


We acknowledge this is the rule as written:

rulebook wrote:
Starting with the first player and continue in turn order, each player may place all the Greenery tiles they want/can and then it's the next player turn to do the same.


But in one game it gave the player who happened to be holding the first player marker and a number of plants a significant advantage over the rest of the table (a newer player who had not planned for this, just fell into it). So much so even that player questioned the rule as written, "Are you sure it means you can place as many as you can? I get to place all these and you guys just watch?". Yep, that's what it says. So they placed 3 greenery tiles, and received enough extra plants to place a 4th.

Variant to this for any that may care:
We have since played that each player places one-or-two greenery tiles, just like a normal round, until everyone is done. The few players I have introduced this variant to seem to agree it's more inline with how the rest of the game plays out.

However, that said, knowing this is a rule--and explaining it properly in advance to the table--is yet another strategy point for this wonderful game.


All in all the rules for this game are pretty clear, probably my most played game of 2016 and so far for 2017, too! I'm looking forward to the reprint so many more can get access to this one, it's a winner.

~Steve
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sebastian Stückl
Germany
flag msg tools
mb
OchreOgre wrote:
Bastinator1 wrote:
player 1 places a greenery (tile), then another greenery, and so on, until he no longer (can or) wishes to continue. Then, player 2 does the same, and so on, until each player had the chance to convert plants to greenery tiles (if desired).

Sebastian


We acknowledge this is the rule as written:

rulebook wrote:
Starting with the first player and continue in turn order, each player may place all the Greenery tiles they want/can and then it's the next player turn to do the same.


But in one game it gave the player who happened to be holding the first player marker and a number of plants a significant advantage over the rest of the table (a newer player who had not planned for this, just fell into it). So much so even that player questioned the rule as written, "Are you sure it means you can place as many as you can? I get to place all these and you guys just watch?". Yep, that's what it says. So they placed 3 greenery tiles, and received enough extra plants to place a 4th.

Variant to this for any that may care:
We have since played that each player places one-or-two greenery tiles, just like a normal round, until everyone is done. The few players I have introduced this variant to seem to agree it's more inline with how the rest of the game plays out.

However, that said, knowing this is a rule--and explaining it properly in advance to the table--is yet another strategy point for this wonderful game.


All in all the rules for this game are pretty clear, probably my most played game of 2016 and so far for 2017, too! I'm looking forward to the reprint so many more can get access to this one, it's a winner.

~Steve


Since it's generally advisable to place your greenery tiles before the end of the game, the fact that multiple can be placed before the next player is usually of low significance. At that point, most good placement bonuses should be gone anyway, and it's quite rare that the placement order matters, considering you want to place adjacent to your own cities anyway, if you have any.

Remember you have an unlimited amount of actions, so you can just place your greenery tiles during the action phase.

Sebastian
10 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
AJ Cooper
msg tools
Avatar
Bastinator1 wrote:

Since it's generally advisable to place your greenery tiles before the end of the game, the fact that multiple can be placed before the next player is usually of low significance. At that point, most good placement bonuses should be gone anyway, and it's quite rare that the placement order matters, considering you want to place adjacent to your own cities anyway, if you have any.

Remember you have an unlimited amount of actions, so you can just place your greenery tiles during the action phase.

Sebastian

Right, you should place all the greenery tiles that you can during the action phase. As a result it should be pretty rare to place more than one after the final production. If you carry 8+ plants into the final production, you are (a) playing suboptimally and (b) only collecting bonuses that you could (should) have collected during the action phase.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Odyzeus Longbow
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Removing production is always mandatory.

This is important enough to desrve it's own headline - as it is now, it's confused with Removing resources optional.


Love the game, and very much appreciate this FAQ!
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Örjan Almén
Sweden
Karlstad
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I suggest that the FAQ is updated so each card name is accompanied with its number so there is no doubt which card is meant, especially for translated games.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mokey D Luffy
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Nice to see an official FAQ. I would have recommended, though it is probably too late, that the Corporate Era not be listed as a variant in the back of the manual. It is one of those things that should be included as the manual goes along, in a shaded box for the rare instances that a difference pops up. As this is mainly in setup, it just makes sense to me to have it explained at the same time, especially as it seems to be the main way that the game is played.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank Calcagno
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Like the others..thanks!

One question I cannot rectify: Many cards have prerequisites for global parameters such as "Temperature must be -6 degrees or warmer" (ie card 169, Tundra Farming). But there are a few other cards that do not have the "or warmer" or "or colder" type sub-clause (ie 035, Ants "Requires 4% oxygen." It is logical that ants could survive with oxygen above 4%, but the card seemingly does not allow it to be built if, for example, oxygen is now at 6%.

So if a card says specifically (such as) "requires x" and does not allow an up or down clause, can it ONLY be played on a round when the current global parameter is EXACTLY the stated factor (or were you saving text)? Mechanically, it often appears that the card could work either above or below (depending on the subject) but the lack of qualifiers brings question to the card's intent seeing that most other cards state the extra allowance.

Also, I am still slightly still unclear how to use the Robotics Workforce, Copy A cards. Can I choose a blue OR green card I've previously laid down on my table as long as it has a building tag?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Georg D.
Germany
Höxter
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Antares Rangers wrote:

So if a card says specifically (such as) "requires x" and does not allow an up or down clause, can it ONLY be played on a round when the current global parameter is EXACTLY the stated factor (or were you saving text)? Mechanically, it often appears that the card could work either above or below (depending on the subject) but the lack of qualifiers brings question to the card's intent seeing that most other cards state the extra allowance.

Reread thhe first post. There stands:

Quote:
No exact requirements
A requirement box (next to the card’s cost) that doesn’t explicitly say ‘max’ is automatically a minimum requirement. For example, ‘requires 3 oceans’ means that you can play the card if there are at least 3 ocean tiles in play. There are no ‘exact requirements’.

So there are no cards in the game with exact requirements - all are either minimum or maximum requirements.

Quote:

Also, I am still slightly still unclear how to use the Robotics Workforce, Copy A cards. Can I choose a blue OR green card I've previously laid down on my table as long as it has a building tag?


Yes, but you can also only copy the brown production box which changes your income (positive and negative). You don't copy any other advantages of that card. So I'm not sure if there are many blue cards worth to copy.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank Calcagno
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks Georg!
I zeroed in on the ocean part and skipped the wider implications. Much appreciated that you got me in line

Yeah, I also wondered about blue versus green, but did not want to thumb through all cards to be sure there was some cards that could or could not apply....
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Örjan Almén
Sweden
Karlstad
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Antares Rangers wrote:
Like the others..thanks!

One question I cannot rectify: Many cards have prerequisites for global parameters such as "Temperature must be -6 degrees or warmer" (ie card 169, Tundra Farming). But there are a few other cards that do not have the "or warmer" or "or colder" type sub-clause (ie 035, Ants "Requires 4% oxygen." It is logical that ants could survive with oxygen above 4%, but the card seemingly does not allow it to be built if, for example, oxygen is now at 6%.

So if a card says specifically (such as) "requires x" and does not allow an up or down clause, can it ONLY be played on a round when the current global parameter is EXACTLY the stated factor (or were you saving text)? Mechanically, it often appears that the card could work either above or below (depending on the subject) but the lack of qualifiers brings question to the card's intent seeing that most other cards state the extra allowance.

Also, I am still slightly still unclear how to use the Robotics Workforce, Copy A cards. Can I choose a blue OR green card I've previously laid down on my table as long as it has a building tag?


The "or warmer" and "or colder" is added as a clarification only because the temperature can be both positive and negative. They opted out the text on other requirements as they are only positive values, to minimize the needed text on the cards.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Chaney

California
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
"Blue card actions
Can only be used once per generation (mark them as used with your player marker until the production phase)."

This is ambiguous because a Blue card may have more than one Action on it. For a card with two distinct actions on it, my understanding is that "the card can only be used for an action once per generation ..." (you must pick only one of the actions) while the stated clarification can easily be read to mean each possible action could be used once per generation.

"Blue cards with actions
Each such card may only be used once per generation (mark them as used with your player marker until the production phase)."

The initial play (paying to put the card down) does not count for this so the action *on* the card may still be played in the generation the card is played. (Playing the card is an action, yes I'm just over-clarifying for the perverse.)

Blue cards with ongoing effects that are NOT actions will have their effect when applicable and are not limited to once per generation.



"Reshuffle the deck
Addition: The deck is reshuffled from the discard pile if it becomes empty."

So the deck is reshuffled when it is empty, as distinct from when a card must be drawn and there is an empty deck?



Sorry to those offended by my nit-picking, but these are both questions that have been discussed (if not argued) in my personal experience. It's good to fix it before it becomes a problem!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paulo Renato
Portugal
Vila Nova Gaia
Porto
flag msg tools
I run through Rahdo's Runthroughs and make right what once went wrong (via annotations)
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
kenchaney wrote:
"Blue card actions
Can only be used once per generation (mark them as used with your player marker until the production phase)."

This is ambiguous because a Blue card have more than one Action on it. For a card with two distinct actions on it, my understanding is that "the card can only be used for an action once per generation ..." (you must pick only one of the actions) while the stated clarification can easily be read to mean each possible action could be used once per generation.



don't agree with you here...

It's clear that Blue cards that are actions can only be used once per generation...

If a blue action card provides more than 1 action it always says "OR" so when you activate the blue card you have to make a choice on what of the options the cards provides you want to use...

After that choice is made the card has been used for the generation and can't be used anymore until a new generation begins, very simple and clear
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Chaney

California
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
By that argument, made many times, the clarification that players may take more than two actions per generation doesn't belong in the FAQ/clarifications either.

As I said, in my personal experience, this particular interpretation question has come up. This is the official FAQ, a very good place to be clear about the rules that may come into dispute.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paulo Renato
Portugal
Vila Nova Gaia
Porto
flag msg tools
I run through Rahdo's Runthroughs and make right what once went wrong (via annotations)
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
kenchaney wrote:
By that argument, made many times, the clarification that players may take more than two actions per generation doesn't belong in the FAQ/clarifications either.

As I said, in my personal experience, this particular interpretation question has come up. This is the official FAQ, a very good place to be clear about the rules that may come into dispute.


I also think that is very clear in the rulebook... I was baffled that so many people were making that mistake, I guess the player aid (those 4 little remainder cards) were the culprit there because I think the rulebook is pretty clear, the player aid is the thing that can cause some confusion in that point.

But again, I don't see how can anyone have any problem with the Actions on the Blue Cards... It's a once per Generation use... if the card has multiple actions on it it says "OR" so when you use the card you have to make a choice, once you do the card is used for the generation and that's it...

It has been addressed in the FAQ and it's crystal clear, one use per generation, if you want to use multiple actions on the same cards, like I just wrote, that's multiple actions and you can do only one,

Must be a pain in the a$$ writing rules, I don't envy those people at all! There will always be someone trying to "interpret" what's written to their advantage or saying that it's not correct and needs change...
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
AJ Cooper
msg tools
Avatar
Fryxen wrote:
Tags on event cards
They are active and may trigger effects while being played, but are not counted after this, neither during the game or during end game scoring (they may still give end game VP if they contain a VP icon).

Heh, we were doing this one wrong then. We counted jovian tags on events toward VP/tag, as we could find no clear statement in the rules to the contrary. Page 10, item 3 leans toward not allowing, but was not completely clear on this point. Meanwhile page 12, item 5 was the opposite, seeming to allow the tags to count.

Will the rules FAQ be printed and included in the new print run?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sebastian Stückl
Germany
flag msg tools
mb
Talmanes wrote:
Fryxen wrote:
Tags on event cards
They are active and may trigger effects while being played, but are not counted after this, neither during the game or during end game scoring (they may still give end game VP if they contain a VP icon).

Heh, we were doing this one wrong then. We counted jovian tags on events toward VP/tag, as we could find no clear statement in the rules to the contrary. Page 10, item 3 leans toward not allowing, but was not completely clear on this point. Meanwhile page 12, item 5 was the opposite, seeming to allow the tags to count.

Will the rules FAQ be printed and included in the new print run?


There aren't any events with a Jovian tag, right?
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
AJ Cooper
msg tools
Avatar
Bastinator1 wrote:
There aren't any events with a Jovian tag, right?

Hah, that would be funny. I did not check, the opponent said he had some. Perhaps he was mistaken.

Anyway, it must be a relevant point, otherwise they would not have needed to FAQ it. Perhaps the issue occurs for earth tags (if there are any of those, lol).

I'll check my copy later to verify.

edit: confirmed as others already knew, no jovian tags on events. To my surprise, I also did not find any card that gives VP per earth tag, which I thought I remembered seeing. So seemingly the bit about final scoring only matters for the scientist award.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sam Carroll
United States
Urbana
Illinois
flag msg tools
Soli Deo Gloria!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
He must have mistaken either the Earth or the Space tag for Jovian.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geoff Speare
United States
Bedford
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
tee hee, that tickles!!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Minor English thing, except for examples involving nautical rope, "payed" should be "paid".

4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jacob Fryxelius
Sweden
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
galfridus wrote:
Minor English thing, except for examples involving nautical rope, "payed" should be "paid".


Thanks!
One of them was actually meant to be 'played'. Updated.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5  Next »  [7] | 
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.