Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Daniel Hurst
United States
Murfreesboro
Tennessee
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
My background is in wargames and I've recently gotten into ASL. A friend bought this game, thought I would enjoy it, and we played it for the first time. I like the TOI system and I love that the components can be used to play tons of different customizable scenarios. It's a good TOY (TOI!) rather than just a game. In general, I was impressed.

After about three turns as the defender, I noticed that my philosophical theory of defensive Op Fire doesn't seem to agree with the TOI system. I'm wondering either if 1) I've missed a rule, 2) I'm the only one who thinks it may be a problem, or 3) the game needs a slight fix.

As I understand it, units can first be put into Op Fire mode during the Status Phase. Units can also be put into Op Fire mode during the Action Phase as that unit's turn. Once a unit is in Op Fire mode, its turn is over, unless the unit is triggered by enemy movement in range and LOS (or a magic card is used in some way). At the end of the Action Phase, if no enemy unit triggers the Op Fire unit, the unit does nothing for the turn.

My problem is that a defender is often forced to put defending units into Op Fire mode to prevent an attacker from moving towards his position. But once those units are in Op Fire mode, any attacking unit which is already in range and LOS can make free concentrated fire attacks at the defending unit while that defending unit CANNOT RETURN FIRE. In fact, the defending unit wouldn't get any shot during the round. If, however, the defending unit wants to fire at the attacking unit, he will be unable to prevent the attacking unit from moving forward with impunity because he can't Op Fire.

Several options for resolution:

1) Tell me that TOI is a different system and that I should just get used to it. If so, what a "correct" strategy for using Op Fire on the defense? Go ahead, rock my world.