GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
8,365 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
20 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Villages of Valeria» Forums » Rules

Subject: Wizards tower - is the gold usable for resouces in the build action? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Danny Bartel
Australia
Salisbury Heights
SA
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
While the rulebook says "For a detailed list of all cards and special powers, visit www.dailymagicgames.com", I can't find any such list on the website.

We had a few questions during our first game, and couldn't come to a definitive conclusion regarding one.

Wizard's Tower gives you a Gold when you take the Build action. Can you use that gold to pay for resources needed to build the building during that build action? It specifically says that powers that give resources (food, wood, stone, magic, wild) for building can be used for that build action (that's their whole purpose). The pro argument says that the action description ( Build: + <gold> ) is the same as for resources, so it should work the same way. The con argument says that the example on page 11 for Barracks shows you can't use a card gained from a power to play the cost for that action, so likely gold works the same way.

Hopefully the detailed list will appear, or the promised FAQ will clarify.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Francois LC
Canada
St-Bruno-de-Montarville (Near Montreal)
Quebec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Wizard Tower give you one gold coin when you have successfully build a building while leading or following the action. Thus, you cannot use this gold to build this building during this build action, as with all bonus in this game (except the one you mentioned which are called Ressource Power), you receive them after having done the action. This is clearly written in the rules.

5 
 Thumb up
1.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rick Holzgrafe
United States
Happy Valley
Oregon
flag msg tools
designer
badge
"the understandably frightening and chimeric semicolon" -- HiveGod
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Cerberus777 is correct (thanks!). From the rulebook, page 11, under "When to Use Special Powers":

Quote:
All other special powers, including instant powers, cannot be used until you have completed the basic action.


The only exceptions are those powers which supply a resource type during building. Gold coins, of course, are not a resource (see page 5, "Resources").
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Danny Bartel
Australia
Salisbury Heights
SA
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks. For some reason I just couldn't find that statement when I needed to.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.