GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
10,570 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
13 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Mechs vs. Minions» Forums » Rules

Subject: Mission 3 - Which cards can damage boss rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ben Harding
United States
Mount Pleasant
South Carolina
flag msg tools
merely a dingbat pushing little wooden bits around a game board
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I've browsed the Rules forum, and didn't see this question asked:

I don't have the materials in front of me, but the scenario book for Mission 3 specifies that only attack cards can damage the boss. Furthermore, prior rules (may have been the rules reference book or the tutorial) identify the various types of command cards: Turn cards (curved arrow icon: Fuel tank, etc), Move cards (straight arrow icon: Skewer, etc.), and Attack cards (crosshairs icon: Hexamatic Aimbot, etc). Each card color has one of each type of command card.

Therefore, if reading the mission booklet for Mission 3 literally, only Ripsaw, Flamespitter, Hexamatic Aimbot, and Chain Lightning can do damage to the boss. The rules reference book does not specify that only attack cards can damage the boss, and imply that any card with the "Do Damage" icon could damage the boss, but I'd assume the mission specific-rules would take precedence.

That being said, we played with what we thought was the intent of the rules, rather than literal interpretation, and assumed that any Do Damage cards could damage the boss (assuming the correct shield was down). But we won handily on our first try. Were we wrong? Should only those four cards be able to damage the boss?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You played correctly. The rules are actually written to say that Rune Shields block damage from 'Attack Commands' of the respective colour. If you were to take that literally, damage from other Commands is never blocked. Of course that's not intended.

The Rune Shields section of the Master Mech-Anic book does reference taking damage from the particular elements and that's the description you should go with rather than the ultra-literal one.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pawel Bulacz
Poland
Kraków
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Does standing on a rune area means the shield is of that colour is off all the time?
Or is only entering the rune spot removing the shield? So we have to step back from the area and move again in?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
pabula wrote:
Does standing on a rune area means the shield is of that colour is off all the time?

No.
Quote:
Or is only entering the rune spot removing the shield? So we have to step back from the area and move again in?

Yes.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
THE REVENGE OF THE GOLDFISH
Greece
Thessaloniki
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Clipper wrote:
You played correctly. The rules are actually written to say that Rune Shields block damage from 'Attack Commands' of the respective colour. If you were to take that literally, damage from other Commands is never blocked. Of course that's not intended.

The Rune Shields section of the Master Mech-Anic book does reference taking damage from the particular elements and that's the description you should go with rather than the ultra-literal one.


So regarding the type of the card,attack,turn,move,all can damage Boss with the limitation that color shield have to be down.

Right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
By my understanding yes. I believe the quote you mentioned in the other thread regarding this is not meant to be taken literally. It simply mentions Attack Command Cards as the most common situation.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Des T.
Germany
flag msg tools
This user optimizes his gaming experience.
badge
This user might be a mutant in hiding.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Friedrich wrote:
Clipper wrote:
You played correctly. The rules are actually written to say that Rune Shields block damage from 'Attack Commands' of the respective colour. If you were to take that literally, damage from other Commands is never blocked. Of course that's not intended.

The Rune Shields section of the Master Mech-Anic book does reference taking damage from the particular elements and that's the description you should go with rather than the ultra-literal one.


So regarding the type of the card,attack,turn,move,all can damage Boss with the limitation that color shield have to be down.

Right?


Also, don't forget damaging schematics and overdrive. Both are also capable of damaging the boss (although overdrive is highly unlikely to ever occur). When selecting which color they count as, you can choose freely between all colors. (Except for a few schematics that are clearly marked with their own color).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
THE REVENGE OF THE GOLDFISH
Greece
Thessaloniki
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We played last night it was very easy ti defeat boss without the limitaion of "attack" cards.
Fuel tank proved to be very handy card...

We will try it again with te rule that only attack and schematics cards could damage boss.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Des T.
Germany
flag msg tools
This user optimizes his gaming experience.
badge
This user might be a mutant in hiding.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Friedrich wrote:
We played last night it was very easy ti defeat boss without the limitaion of "attack" cards.

Did you remember that the shield goes back up when the boss gets hit? Did you keep in mind that the shields only go down if a mech steps on a rune of the corresponding color?

While the fight can be easy if luck shines on you, it can also be impossible to beat, especially with 4 players.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.