Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Age of Empires III: The Age of Discovery» Forums » Rules

Subject: Intiative Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gregg Giersch
United States
Saukville
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If playing a 2 player game, is there anything that prevents someone form choosing the number 6 spot to get cash. I would have thought that only spots 1 and 2 would be available, but I do not see anything specific that says so.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Albritton
United States
Tupelo
Mississippi
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It specifically says that you must play in the first available slot.

Since you are not allowed to place more than one in the initiative box, there are only two effective spots with only 2 players.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Tyler
United States
Orem
Utah
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The exact rule is on page 4 under "A. Colonist / Specialist Placement."

"Initiative, Colonist Dock, Capital Buildings and Warfare
Event Boxes: Colonists and specialists must be placed
from left to right, filling in from the first available slot on
the left."
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
New Zealand
flag msg tools
mbmb
A couple of corollary questions:

1) If it's a five player game, why are there six spots?

2) When you move the initiative pieces up to the turn order, what do you do with the turn pieces that are already there from the last round?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin G
United Kingdom
Bristol
flag msg tools
badge
Don't fall in love with me yet, we only recently met
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rusty Gamer wrote:
1) If it's a five player game, why are there six spots?


There's an expansion to add a 6th player.

Rusty Gamer wrote:
2) When you move the initiative pieces up to the turn order, what do you do with the turn pieces that are already there from the last round?


You don't move the initiative pieces up, as every player often won't have placed there. Rearrange the turn order pieces as needed, and hand the initiative pieces back to the players.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
New Zealand
flag msg tools
mbmb
But the expansion isn't out yet! Is this a case of well-anticipated forward planning?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John L
United States
Louisville
Colorado
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
They've been selling 6th player pieces (colored white or black) separately already. Dunno if they are still available. This is distinct from the "expansion" with the new stuff that's due out soon.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.