GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
8,608 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
19 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Shadows of Brimstone: Forbidden Fortress» Forums » General

Subject: Assembly concerns & questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Robert Hafley
United States
Lexington
South Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello!! I have been playing dungeon crawls for around 20 years (ever since I received HeroQuest as a gift, purchased from WalMart). They are my favorite genre (both board & video game), I love minis as they add so much to the game & have just recently begun painting.

However, I have avoided games which require assembly as I have concerns of durability (minis coming apart) and little knowledge on the process. I have seen mentioned the act of pinning appendages and such.

How durable are minis that are only glued together vs pinned/glued? What are the best/strongest glues for HIPS plastic?

Thanks so much!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Everts
United States
Foothill Ranch
California
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
"Nobody gets me. I'm the wind, baby!" - Tom Servo
badge
"Push the button, Frank!"
mbmbmbmbmb
The HIPS plastic when using a model glue is very strong. The glue melts the plastic together so the bond isn't going to break unless you throw them around or are super rough with them.

My brand is Testors and with the nose applicator has good control. You can find it on Amazon or most any store that sells models. Michaels Art Supply sells it. Make sure to have good ventilation.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Hafley
United States
Lexington
South Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the response! I have heard that the glues which melt & fuse the plastic together actually create a weaker hold as the newly created seam is more fragile than super glue?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Waggly Bean
United Kingdom
Walsall