Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
17 Posts

Age of Empires III: The Age of Discovery» Forums » Rules

Subject: Limitaiton of figures rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steen Thomsen
Denmark
Gistrup
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Last time we played I had 2 capital buildings generating 1 Merchant each. I had soon shipped all my 5 merchants to the new world, since I wanted the $5 for each landing.

Soon I didn't have any merchant-figures left, as I couldn't just retrieve them from the new world.

Are you limited to the number of plastic units, or should you just be more careful not to send to many across (in this case the merchants)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Larry Pienciak
United States
Carlstadt
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules say you can swap a colonist for a merchant that is already in a colony.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Bender
United States
Knoxville
Tennessee
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Glenn (Drover, the designer,) has reiterated in other threads that there is no limit on the units.

With the exception of Soldiers, the other specialists (Merchants and Missionaries) trigger their ability as soon as they arrive in the New World and can then be replaced by standard colonist figures with no effect on the game.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ray
United States
Carpentersville
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I find its easier to switch all my merchants on the colonits dock out for colonists (and money) just before we begin sending them to the new world.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Tyler
United States
Orem
Utah
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
futurescaper wrote:
Glenn (Drover, the designer,) has reiterated in other threads that there is no limit on the units.

With the exception of Soldiers, the other specialists (Merchants and Missionaries) trigger their ability as soon as they arrive in the New World and can then be replaced by standard colonist figures with no effect on the game.


So is a player limited to 10 soldiers or not?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
m_r_tyler wrote:
So is a player limited to 10 soldiers or not?

Yes, you are limited to 10, but chances are you will not have 10 on the board (i.e. you will have suffered casualties). The most I have seen from one player was 8.

Page 7 - Colonist Dock
Quote:
Note: With the exception of soldiers, once a specialist arrives in the New World he no longer conveys any benefits. Specialists are not designed to be a limited commodity so if a player wishes, the specialists in the New World can be swapped out for colonists and the specialists returned to the player's reserve pool (this has no effect on gameplay).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J. Alan Henning
United States
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hawk wrote:
The most I have seen from one player was 8.

I've seen 10 in a 3-player game, and we said he could use the soldiers of an unused color if he really wanted (he didn't). This player had two of the capital buildings that give +1 soldiers and kept taking the soldier specialist. He also used colonists to grab battle spaces. Because of all that, he came in last place.

I mainly ignored him, but was able to get the reinforcement capital building (Melee?) and concentrated on trade goods. I won the game, despite the fewest colonists in the New World of any game I played (well, he kept killing them!).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Same result here, the player who controlled the most soldiers in the New World finished last. I blame this on his poor economy as he was not able to pick up any Age III tiles, which essentially set him back some 20 points (else he would have been in good shape).

Indeed, the Militia Capital Building would be a good deterrant against a player like that.

In that game, I picked up Stable in Age II, to ensure the warmonger would remain static. Else it would have been havoc in the New World, as the warlord keep placing 2 to 4 colonists in the Warfare boxes! He almost managed to eradicate one player from the New World (he only had Colonists in Canada).

Edit: corrected a typo
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Glenn Drover
United States
Plainfield
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The last game I played (on Friday night), I was able to win using the "load the new world with soldiers and kill eveything" strategy. It was a four player game. This is hard to do, but can be done. Getting the Power and the Glory Age III Capital Buildings helped!

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew H
Australia
Brisbane
Queensland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Glenn- did you use more than 10 soldiers at one time? If so how did you represent them? An unused colour?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Glenn Drover
United States
Plainfield
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
On turn 8, I had the ability to build 2 soldiers and had none left (All ten were in the New World). What I did was swapped one in the New World out for a colonist, built one and then sent it to a new location in the New World vis the colony dock.


2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Todd Sweet
United States
Geneva
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Budley wrote:
On turn 8, I had the ability to build 2 soldiers and had none left (All ten were in the New World). What I did was swapped one in the New World out for a colonist, built one and then sent it to a new location in the New World vis the colony dock.


Does that mean you are limited to only having 10 soldiers or did you just not need that particular soldier and do the swap? However, that would rob you of 2 points if you got the Age III building of 2 points per soldier in the new world.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Glenn Drover
United States
Plainfield
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
10 soldiers is the limit. Trading for colonists is permited, but the advantage of doing so is somewhat limited.

G
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geoff Speare
United States
Bedford
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
tee hee, that tickles!!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Glenn, this seems different from what you said earlier (http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/1532483#1532483):

[quote]There is not supposed to be a limit on Specialists or colonists. Therefore, if you are running out of colonists you could swap into the new world any specialist except for a soldier (because he has special ongoing ability once in the New World.)[/quote]

You don't directly say "you can add more soldiers", but I took "not supposed to be a limit on Specialists" to mean that you could produce and use as many Soldiers as you want, not subject to how many plastic pieces there are.

In our game, once someone had >10 soldiers in the new world we let him use soliders of an unused color to build more. Was this wrong?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ed
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
badge
Wankel engine
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hawk wrote:
Yes, you are limited to 10, but chances are you will not have 10 on the board (i.e. you will have suffered casualties).

Actually I played a game today where one player did run out of soliders. He had two of the +1 Soldier buildings. Is a player allowed to replace a soldier on the board with a colonist in order to free up a solider?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Paul Sodusta
United States
Santa Barbara
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Glenn, why limit the soldiers to only 10? Is this only for logistic reasons, as in you only make 10 actual soldiers?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darren Dew
United States
Hinesville
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Barkam wrote:
Glenn, why limit the soldiers to only 10? Is this only for logistic reasons, as in you only make 10 actual soldiers?


Realistically, there *IS* a finite limit on the number of soldiers that can be supported comfortably while exploring.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.