Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Freedom: The Underground Railroad» Forums » Rules

Subject: Bleeding Kansas and The Liberator question. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Randall Barnes
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Does discarding a card with Bleeding Kansas trigger the Opposition cards removed? (I'm assuming yes)

More importantly, does putting an Opposition on top of the deck with The Liberator trigger it? If not, the other player could potentially get a card to buy a token during the action phase, trigger the next phase, and get rid of that deck & card without actually even triggering it, yes?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lewis Karl
United States
Vienna
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
No and No.

Section 5 (Lantern Phase) of the rules (page 9) states that when a card moves off the board "A General or Reserve Card is simply discarded. An Opposition Card will state if it is resolved when removed and discarded."

Earlier in the rules (page 7) it says "General Abolitionist Cards are
resolved immediately when purchased and are then discarded."

So you need to purchase the Bleeding Kansas card in order to use its effect, otherwise you lose it. Putting the card back on top of the deck because of some other card affect doesn't trigger anything.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.