Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Risk Europe» Forums » Rules

Subject: City Bonus Tiles rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ken Waido
United States
Fort Collins
Colorado
flag msg tools
On page 9 in the COLLECTING CROWNS section, under 1. CLAIM A CITY, the rules state, "You may use your army to expand into an unclaimed city territory to take control of that city and claim its crown(s)." Later in the same section, the last sentence of #1 states, "(You also gain control of the city's City Bonus Tile if it is a Gold Crown City.)"

On page 12 in the TAX section the rules state, "Select a city territory you control, and then collect the tax value of that city and all other cities and non-city territories that are connected to that city through supply lines."

Question: Let's say for example, a player's Blue army started in London and during a turn EXPANDED into the non-city territory of Normandy, then in another turn EXPANDED again into the unclaimed city territory France and, therefore, gained control of Paris' City Bonus Tile. Then player in the next round decides to TAX London and, thus gets 3 coins for control of London, 1 coin for control of Normandy, and 3 coins for control of Paris. Since both London's and Paris' City Bonus Tiles provide a TAX bonus, the player gets to "...place 2 Archers in London for free." Does the player also get to, "...place 1 Cavalry and 1 Footman in Paris for free."?

We believe the answer to the above question is "yes" but can't find it specifically in the rules unless the rule, "You also gain control of the city's City Bonus Tile if it is a Gold Crown City." is the rule that applies.

Thanks.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mortego
United States
New Kensington
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You get the benefit from the city you chose so in your example London was chosen so you get the London bonus. had you chosen Paris you would get the Paris bonus. The rules don't say what isn't allowed, it only says what IS allowed.

I just read the "tax" part of the rules and it does not say you can't collect the bonus from all the cities connected but it does say you can collect from the city you chose.

Don't over-read into the words, just do what the words say.

Hope this helps. Great game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Waido
United States
Fort Collins
Colorado
flag msg tools
Thanks for the quick reply.

What we didn't put into our first post (we forgot) was the NOTE on page 22 in the CITY BONUS TILES section under TAXING BONUSES which states, "Multiple tax bonuses may occur at the same time during your turn if the cities are under your control and connected to each other when you tax."

That is why we believe that even though London was selected to be taxed, as in our example, and Paris is connected to London through a Supply Line, then BOTH the London and the Paris tax bonus can be taken "...at the same time."

If a player is only allowed to take the tax bonus from London, as in your reply, why does the NOTE say "Multiple tax bonuses may occur at the same time...'?

We do agree that Risk Europe is a GREAT game!!!!

Too bad some gamers might be turned off by "Risk" being in the title.


5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Schenck
United States
Dayton
Ohio
flag msg tools
GO BUCKS!
badge
Stop touching me!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
All of those western cities that are in that same tax group DO get their bonuses. It specifically says so in the rulebook, on page 22 as you noted. That's why it's critical to not let one player dominate the region early on. It can get out of control quickly.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.