Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rolling modifiers, pushing, attacks rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Sebastian Grawan
Germany
Lehrte
Niedersachsen
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi!

The Brute can add rolling modifier cards with the PUSH 1 effect to his combat deck.

When attacking an enemy at close range and a rolling modifier with PUSH is drawn, does the push effect happen after the attack damages the opponent or before the attack happens?

Meaning, can the push modifier push the enemy out of range of the Brutes' close combat attack?

I don't think so, but I'd like to confirm this.

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marcel Cwertetschka
Germany
Vienna
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Gloomhaven: Forgotten Circles!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
status conditions and push/pull effects are applied after damage.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Benjamin Gentzel
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The best way to think of it is that all of the cards you draw from your attack modifier deck are added to the attack.

So let's say you draw an add fire element, a push 1, a poison, and a +2 for one attack. You treat it as if the attack on the card has PUSH 1 and POISON as part of the attack, adds fire after the attack, and has 2 additional damage on it. This would also mean that if you were to draw a POISON status effect from your deck, you would not get the benefit of +1 damage from that poison for that attack since the poison is a result of the attack.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sebastian Grawan
Germany
Lehrte
Niedersachsen
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks a bunch!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Damon Asher
United States
Jefferson
MA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Related question: if you get a push effect, is it mandatory to use it?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marc Alexandre
France
Lyon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nope, it's exactly like if it was a push on the action card. And as said in the rulebook, you don't have to do any part of the action. But if you do, you need to respect the order (which is not important for the modifiers).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan
United States
Rancho Cordova
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you pull a push from your attack modifier deck with an attack action that already has a push, does it increase the amount of the push, or do they count as separate pushes, meaning you really only get to use one of them? Seems like it would add up to a bigger push, but just want to confirm.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fito R
Argentina
flag msg tools
Avatar
It's treated as a separate instance of Push. That is to say, if you have an attack that says Push 2, and you draw a Push 1 modifier card you can choose whether or not to apply it separately. In the end you could push 0, 1, 2 or 3.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.