GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
7,308 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
23 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Arkham Horror: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Confused on first scenario card rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
United States
flag msg tools
publisher
I have never lost at Ascension nor Shards of Infinity.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
The first scenario card shows "-X. X is the number of Ghouls are the current location" (or something similar).

If I manage to get "-X" and there's a Ghoul at my location, what exactly am I subtracting? The other effects on the scenario also subtract something, but what the identity of that something isn't clear.

Help!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evan S
United States
Longwood
FL
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If there is a ghoul at your location, you subtract 1 from your skill level on the investigator card for whatever skill you are trying to test. Two ghouls = minus 2, etc.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Jacobsen
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
who longs for oolong
badge
You are excrement. You can change yourself into gold.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
GoingTopShelf wrote:
If there is a ghoul at your location, you subtract 1 from your skill level on the investigator card for whatever skill you are trying to test. Two ghouls = minus 2, etc.


Example:
You choose the fight action against a ghoul with a 3 fight value. Your modified fight value is 4. You pull a skull which subtracts X per ghoul. There is 1 ghoul, so 4 - 1 is 3. You succeed and apply the appropriate amount of damage (which is 1, unless otherwise stated).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
flag msg tools
publisher
I have never lost at Ascension nor Shards of Infinity.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
GoingTopShelf wrote:
If there is a ghoul at your location, you subtract 1 from your skill level on the investigator card for whatever skill you are trying to test. Two ghouls = minus 2, etc.

What happens if I draw that token during an Investigation skill test? I'm guessing nothing.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Jacobsen
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
who longs for oolong
badge
You are excrement. You can change yourself into gold.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It would still be -X if the condition is met. If there are ghouls present, and you draw a skull, you still apply it to every skill check no matter what it is.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daily Grind
United States
Raleigh
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Huuuze wrote:
GoingTopShelf wrote:
If there is a ghoul at your location, you subtract 1 from your skill level on the investigator card for whatever skill you are trying to test. Two ghouls = minus 2, etc.

What happens if I draw that token during an Investigation skill test? I'm guessing nothing.

Kind of depends if there's a ghoul at your location when you perform the investigation skill test. If not, then it would be +0. If there's 1 ghoul, it would be -1. If there's 2 ghouls it would be -2. The type of test is irrelevant.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
flag msg tools
publisher
I have never lost at Ascension nor Shards of Infinity.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
I'm good now. Thanks for the fast responses!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
PC ichigo
Thailand
Bangbuathong
Nonthaburi
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Huuuze wrote:
What happens if I draw that token during an Investigation skill test? I'm guessing nothing.


When ever you draw that Skull symbol token from the bag because of searching, fighting, evading, etc.

And if there is 1 Ghoul there in your location, you get -1 from drawing Skull token.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.