Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Wings for the Baron (second edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Contracts available/remaining rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
chris yates
United Kingdom
Hampshire
flag msg tools
Just want to be sure about this.

An example in rules would have been nice.

Playing a 5 player game the contracts available is set to 5 at the start of the game. During the first turn 3 of those are taken so the contracts remaining marker is now on 2.

The next War status card increases the contracts available by +3. But because there were still 2 remaining it only increases the contracts available by 1 to 6 for the next turn.

If on the following all 6 were taken and another +3 was drawn then turn 3 would start with 9 available.

My only confusion comes from the Sequence of Play on the back of the rule book.

It says 'reduced specified gain by current position of the Contracts Available Marker'

so in the examples above that value would be 5 and the gain would always be zero (unless some cards have +6 , I haven't checked them all).

??

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
oystein eker
Norway
Unspecified
sola
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No doubt you have played it right.

Check rules page 13. Last sentence refers to Remaining Marker.
This will count against upcoming Fighter Contract increase.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brent Pollock
Canada
Saskatoon
Saskatchewan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
And if you have yet to read it...
https://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/1491249/possible-errata...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Doug DeMoss
United States
Stillwater
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
chris yates wrote:


Playing a 5 player game the contracts available is set to 5 at the start of the game. During the first turn 3 of those are taken so the contracts remaining marker is now on 2.



How is that even possible? If I recall correctly, only the 1 column has a 0 as a possible result. So at a minimum, the first four players in preference order should have gotten one each (minimum) unless somebody started out by burning down somebody else's factories or something.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt R
United States
DFW
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
chris yates wrote:
Just want to be sure about this.

An example in rules would have been nice.

Playing a 5 player game the contracts available is set to 5 at the start of the game. During the first turn 3 of those are taken so the contracts remaining marker is now on 2.

The next War status card increases the contracts available by +3. But because there were still 2 remaining it only increases the contracts available by 1 to 6 for the next turn.

If on the following all 6 were taken and another +3 was drawn then turn 3 would start with 9 available.


Either the sequence of play is incorrect or you're reading too much into it. You played the contracts remaining correctly... (even if it does sound weird that not all contracts were taken in the first turn but for purposes of your example, yes you did it correctly).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.