Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Scythe» Forums » Variants

Subject: Automa with abilities variant rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Pawel Garycki
Poland
Gdansk
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Why this variant?
Because I want to play with Automas which much more resembles humans in play and be aware of their faction-specific abilities.


* Some factions gain new general Automa abilities.
* When deploying mechs, Automas gain their abilities.
* The order of gained abilities is the printed order on the mat.
* Many mechs' abilities are straightforward, for example Albion's Sword ability - and those will not be mentioned here but shall be used.
* If Automa has a choice to use a mech ability (e.g. Artillery), it always uses it.
* Riverwalk abilities mean ability to cross rivers even when river-cross is not yet activated on the Automa card. The crossing must be done according to the indicated terriroties or other rules.
* The same applies with any lakes abilities.
* Riverwalk and lake abilities also affect workers.
* Speed ability makes it possible to treat hexes two adjacency away (e.g. next to an already adjacent hex) as "adjacent" to Automa units. Therefore it increases adjacency range.
* When using movement (teleportation), always simulate an actual land-move for the purpose of using riverwalk and similar abilities, however do not pay attention to the enemy units in a mid-move.
* All abilities granting more combat cards during combats simply add additional cards to the regular amount drawn for Automa combat.

Polania:
* General ability: Add one territory at the end of the game for each of the controlled encounter territory (with a token or not).
* Submerge ability makes all lakes adjacent to each other for Automa and an early access to lake.
* Comerade ability means human player losing popularity for each worker sent to home by Polania's assault.

Albion:
* Riverwalk ability also allows entering the closest Tunnelbut does not allow to go further without crossing a river until Automa card allows crossing rivers.
* Flag mechs' ability means treating all territories with flags (even empty or enemy-controlled ones) as adjacent to all Automa units.

Nordia:
* General ability: workers can cross rivers from the beginning of the game. Note that other units cannot (teleport) cross rivers with this ability.
* Lake retreat ability interpretation: Automa may access lakes early and may retreat units to a nearby lake in stead of the mat/home base. When choosing the lake, choose the one which is free of the enemy units and 1. with fewer Automa units 2. closer to the Factory, 3. with an unarmed trap, 4. reading order. It may happen that more than one combat unit/worker gets there. Workers also use this ability.
* If there are more combat units in the single hex and they defend, use an additional combat card for each excess unit. When moving such a unit, it cannot land on the same hex (also affect 2+ workers).

Rusviet:
* General ability: if the previous Automa card contains production bonus specific for Rusviet which can still be applied and the production bonus on the new card does not, use the production from the previous card instead (including regular gain).
* Factory ability: treat factory as adjacent to the controlled village.

Togawa:
* Riverwalk ability: only one river can be crossed (or a Tunnel entered/crossed) in a single (teleport) move per turn Riverwalk ability also allows entering the closest Tunnel but does not allow to go further without crossing a river until Automa card allows crossing rivers.
* Trap telepor mechs' ability: treat all territoriess with traps (armed or not, enemy-controlled or not) as adjacent to all Automa units. Mechs and characters, if moved to an unarmed trap, will arm it with this ability.

Crimea:
* General ability: if Automa card contains production bonus specific for Crimea, pay a combat card (if any) to activate the production twice (regular gain and bonus).
* Mechs' ability: treat all uncontrolled farms as adjacent to all Automa units. Workers may also use this ability.

Saxon:
* General ability: Automa may gain more than 2 stars from the won combat.
* Tunnel ability: treat all tunnels as adjacent to a controlled mountain territory. Workers may also use this ability. However do not treat tunnels as normally adjacent to each other.

All other abilities are straightforward and should be used as written.

Autometta or turn-skipping rules:
* Rusviet general ability is now different: always execute production with Rusviet-specific bonus on cards which will normally be skipped (regular gain and bonus).
* Crimea general ability is now extended: Automa will also pay a combat card (if any) for execution of the production with Crimea-specific bonus on cards which will normally be skipped, however this production is done only once (take regular gain and bonus)

Ultimaszyna rules:
* Riverwalk abilities means that double adjacency is used for territories with crossed rivers (similar to Speed bonus). So two hexes away rule is used when the first hex is the crossed river. This may stack with the Speed ability. Lake abilities are not affected since each of them has an additional rule (e.g. retreating into lakes, lakes adjacency or an additional combat card in a lake).
* For Crimea general ability do not add extra (+1) power/coins for the combat-card-bought production.

AI versus AI sub-variant:
When testing AI versus AI (even if human is present) or for a more fair Automa play, use the following rules:
* Automa will receive 1$ for each captured encounter.
* Polania will receive 2$ for such, but if playing with 2-5 players (AI/human), Polania will not receive its encounter territory control bonus at the end of the game.
* Automa will receive amount of $ equal to the amount of factory cards minus one, when randomly choosing a factory card for itself.
* Polania Comerade ability is now different: Polania will INCREASE their popularity for each enemy worker sent to home base and may score more points at the end of the game. They may also grant them the popularity star.
* Togawa popularity trap now affects also Automas (their popularity can be decreased) and may lower their final score.
* If a human player gains a recruitment bonus from Automa, Automa will also receive this bonus per each human player affected. Note that this may increase Automa's populrity and grant them more points and a popularity star.
* If Automa receives all types of recruitment bonuses this way, give them a recruitment star. Indicate each new gained recruitment bonus by turning Automa card 180 degrees but still using the corrent green/red agenda. This rule is hard to keep so it may be skipped.
* For each pair of resources Automa destroys, give the Automa one coin.

Please forgive me incorrect translation of abilities' names since I use the Polish version.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Morten Monrad Pedersen
Denmark
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you for taking the time to make this. It's great to see the community take our stuff and cook up ways to extend it.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
romano veronese
Italy
flag msg tools
mb
Quote:
* Automa will receive amount of $ equal to the amount of factory cards minus one, when randomly choosing a factory card for itself.

I don't understand this one.
Do you mean the numbers on cards (1 - 12) ? so n°12 card is 12-1= 11 $ ?
Or number of cards gained ?
BUT IT IS NOT JUST ONE CARD THAN AUTOMA could receive for encounter in Factory ?
Thank you,you variant look very interesting and fun to play. meeple
Quote:
* Speed ability makes it possible to treat hexes two adjacency away (e.g. next to an already adjacent hex) as "adjacent" to Automa units. Therefore it increases adjacency range.

I am not sure,but in this way it looks that all workers in turn 2 shall able to pass the river because 2 hex are adjacent for moving (if you gain 2 speed mech turn 1).
May be Automa has to follow the order written on their board(so 2 speed is the fourth one).

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pawel Garycki
Poland
Gdansk
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
buondiavolo wrote:
Quote:
* Automa will receive amount of $ equal to the amount of factory cards minus one, when randomly choosing a factory card for itself.

I don't understand this one.
Do you mean the numbers on cards (1 - 12) ? so n°12 card is 12-1= 11 $ ?
Or number of cards gained ?
BUT IT IS NOT JUST ONE CARD THAN AUTOMA could receive for encounter in Factory ?
Thank you,you variant look very interesting and fun to play. meeple
Quote:
* Speed ability makes it possible to treat hexes two adjacency away (e.g. next to an already adjacent hex) as "adjacent" to Automa units. Therefore it increases adjacency range.

I am not sure,but in this way it looks that all workers in turn 2 shall able to pass the river because 2 hex are adjacent for moving (if you gain 2 speed mech turn 1).
May be Automa has to follow the order written on their board(so 2 speed is the fourth one).



When automa enters factory, there is an amount of cards, from which Automa randomly chooses one card fot itself. Automa takes only one card and it is not revealed to anyone so the number on the card does not matter. Automa gains coins for that equal to the amount of factory cards minus one available for randomly choosing the mentioned taken card.

As for the Speed ability, I apologize for not pointing the order Automa gains mech abilities. Mech abilities are taken in the printed order, so speed is the last one to be picked up.
The increased adjacency per se is not the ability that grants access to yet-unpassable terrain, but simply the ability to count more hexes away for adjacency, still considering restrictions (such as e.g. Togawa's one river per move).

Will add the order of abilities gained to the rules. Thank you for pointing this.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.