Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Championship Formula Racing» Forums » Rules

Subject: Before a die roll rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ismael Descolado
Brazil
Curitiba
Paraná
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Pg. 9

"SKILL
BEFORE you roll a test, chance or forced pass you
can use skill to improve your odds. A car’s skill
attribute provides that driver with skill chips that can
be used during the race. Before a die roll, you can
use 1 green skill chip to reduce the result by 1 or 2
green skill chips to reduce the roll by 2. You may not
use more than 2 skill chips before any one die roll."

"BEFORE A DIE ROLL" means that I can roll ONE DIE, see the result and then decide if I will spent wear BEFORE roll the SECOND DIE?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Berthold Nüchter
Germany
Duisburg
NRW
flag msg tools
I am the walrus
badge
checkpoint
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, I am very sure, that you may only spend skill chips before the roll of the two dice. The headline of the table on the left side of page 9 shows that "die roll" means the roll of the two dice.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ismael Descolado
Brazil
Curitiba
Paraná
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Berthold wrote:
No, I am very sure, that you may only spend skill chips before the roll of the two dice. The headline of the table on the left side of page 9 shows that "die roll" means the roll of the two dice.


Wow... This is a important "issue" to correct in the rulebook, right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Berthold Nüchter
Germany
Duisburg
NRW
flag msg tools
I am the walrus
badge
checkpoint
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It could have been worded more clearly, I agree.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Douglas Schulz
United States
Rockville
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This is one of those... I never thought anyone would think about it this way ... issues.

No, you must roll both dice at once. You must commit your skill prior to any dice rolled.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mr Suitcase
Canada
Burlington
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Whoa. Is the game available?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ismael Descolado
Brazil
Curitiba
Paraná
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
lucidphoenix wrote:
This is one of those... I never thought anyone would think about it this way ... issues.


[rsrsrsr] Douglas, you will don't believe about the things that the users question about. In racing simulators we can use the good sense in many cases, but this question is really specific.

I finished the translation to Brazilian Portuguese. Waiting for the game arrive.



Thanks Douglas!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
lucidphoenix wrote:
This is one of those... I never thought anyone would think about it this way ... issues.

No, you must roll both dice at once. You must commit your skill prior to any dice rolled.


Do you have any update on the Kickstarter?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mrsuitcase wrote:
Whoa. Is the game available?


No. Even the Kickstarter backers are being kept in the dark as to the real status.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruce Schlickbernd
United States
Santa Clarita
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
descolado1 wrote:
Pg. 9

"SKILL
BEFORE you roll a test, chance or forced pass you
can use skill to improve your odds. A car’s skill
attribute provides that driver with skill chips that can
be used during the race. Before a die roll, you can
use 1 green skill chip to reduce the result by 1 or 2
green skill chips to reduce the roll by 2. You may not
use more than 2 skill chips before any one die roll."

"BEFORE A DIE ROLL" means that I can roll ONE DIE, see the result and then decide if I will spent wear BEFORE roll the SECOND DIE?


One can only imagine that it means the exact opposite. You roll one die and it is too late. You roll one of two dice and it is now too late - there is no instance that I can recall that you get to make a multiple dice roll, only roll one of them, look at it, and then decide from there. You roll the dice as a set unless specifically stated otherwise within any game that I have played.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ismael Descolado
Brazil
Curitiba
Paraná
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
English is not my native language and maybe be it's hard for foreign understand some terms. I'm just wanting to make sure the translation is correct and that I did not let anything escape.

If is not a issue in rulebook, only bad interpretation of language, sorry guys.

Thanks a lot.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.