GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
7,370 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
23 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Triumph & Tragedy» Forums » Rules

Subject: Convoy supply / Combination blockades rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael H
United States
Alabama
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
After 7 games I feel as though we have the rules down pretty well but I am still unsure on two things.

1. The Combination Blockades rule says, "If an area is subject to Med Blockade in Summer and a full Blockade at Production (or vice versa), only the lesser Med Blockade applies (as it was in effect during both Supply checks but full Blockade was not)."

What if at the Summer check there is no blockade but production there is a blockade? Do does the "lesser" apply? I.e. Would there be no blockade?

2. Do convoys check supply? We have argued this around the table. Rule 14.1 says, "...ANS units are unaffected...". Rule 3.24 says, "A Ground unit using Sea Movement immediately becomes a Convoy." The unit table on page 5 lists Convoy as an [N] unit. Therefore, we have played that Convoys do not check supply.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Rice
United Kingdom
Beckenham
Kent
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

Point 1: Your guess is correct. If there's no blockade in summer then supplies have already made it through and there are no bloackade effects at start of following year.

Point 2: I would play that they don't check supply, but I can see how you might debate this one!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan Snyder
United States
Tampa
Florida
flag msg tools
Regarding convoys and supply, I just asked a few threads back. Craig's response was:

"Under 3.24 Convoys are defined as Ground units, which ARE subject to Supply rules."
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig Besinque
Canada
New Denver
BC
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
The sidebar table defines Convoys as a Naval Target Type for Combat purposes (though they are defined as Ground units). I can understand the confusion.

I can see arguments either way re this ruling. For a unit to escape Supply Attrition by moving to sea would grate. That's why we went this way.

Craig
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael H
United States
Alabama
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We just finished a game. Before the game started we discussed again and (after reading the cheat sheet which lists a Convoy as a Ground Unit) we decided that Convoys would suffer from Attrition. Of course it never came up in the game.

Thanks for the replies!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.