Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

No Retreat! The Russian Front» Forums » Rules

Subject: Shock Armies vs. SS Panzergrenadiers rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Yomtov
United States
San Jose
California
flag msg tools
mb
When shock armies attack SS panzergrenadiers, do they cancel each other's benefits? Each of them says that they always get their bonus (attack/defense) regardless of the type of unit they're facing.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russ Williams
Poland
Wrocław
Dolny Śląsk
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Liebchen wrote:
When shock armies attack SS panzergrenadiers, do they cancel each other's benefits? Each of them says that they always get their bonus (attack/defense) regardless of the type of unit they're facing.


If you mean the column shifts, what's the practical difference between "shift one way and shift the other way" vs "the shifts are canceled"? Whether the formal answer to the question is "yes" or "no", the resulting practical effect is the same, isn't it? Or am I missing something?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
montreal
Québec
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
russ wrote:

If you mean the column shifts, what's the practical difference between "shift one way and shift the other way" vs "the shifts are canceled"? Whether the formal answer to the question is "yes" or "no", the re meeplesulting practical effect is the same, isn't it? Or am I missing something?


This is correct, they cancel each other.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Yomtov
United States
San Jose
California
flag msg tools
mb
russ wrote:
Liebchen wrote:
When shock armies attack SS panzergrenadiers, do they cancel each other's benefits? Each of them says that they always get their bonus (attack/defense) regardless of the type of unit they're facing.


If you mean the column shifts, what's the practical difference between "shift one way and shift the other way" vs "the shifts are canceled"? Whether the formal answer to the question is "yes" or "no", the resulting practical effect is the same, isn't it? Or am I missing something?


It wasn't a semantic question, it was a actual question. The rule for the shock units says it gets a shift "against any type of unit," which could have negated the SS PG rule which (unlike the rule for the SS Panzers) does not specify "against any units" (but does, however, say "always).

Carl, thanks for the confirmation.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.