GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
8,553 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
19 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Arkham Horror: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Carryover Between Scenarios rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mike W
United States
Silverdale
Washington
flag msg tools
I have looked for answers to the following questions within the forums and rule books, but could not find any:
- Between scenarios, do you carry over horror and damage?
- Do you combine your discard pile with your deck and reshuffle?

If the answers were in either the rule book or reference guide, can you please provide page numbers?

Appreciate any help with this.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Kløve
Denmark
Hillerød
flag msg tools
badge
The man in black fled across the desert, and the gunslinger followed
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
waterstm wrote:
- Between scenarios, do you carry over horror and damage?


No, horror and damage is cleared between scenarios. Only trauma persists.


waterstm wrote:
- Do you combine your discard pile with your deck and reshuffle?


Yes, you reshuffle everything back into your deck, including assest and weaknesses in play.

Sorry, I don't have the rulebook handy.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dee
Sweden
Stockholm
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
The neatest thing to do when considering carry-over between scenarios is to keep in mind that a campaign is not a game, only individual scenarios are considered a game. There's a section, Setting Up The Game, on p27 of the Rules Ref. Those instructions should be followed to the letter at the start of every scenario -- you set up scenario 7 on a clean slate just as you would set up scenario 1. Tracking changes and alterations between scenarios is handled by your campaign log and your deck, which you bring to that blank slate. The rules within 'campaign play' on p5-6 then, for example, modify the set-up instructions by telling investigators to start the game with horror/damage that correlates to their accrued trauma (as tracked in your campaign log).
7 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Bigmore
England
Abingdon
Oxon
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
(All page numbers are for the Rules Reference.)

Check out the definition of "Game" (P12) and Appendix III: Setting Up The Game (P27). In general, a game is a single scenario and, at the start of a game, an investigator has a fully shuffled deck and as many Damage and Horror tokens as the Physical and Mental Trauma they start with (usually zero at the start of a campaign or in a Standalone game (P19)).

During a scenario, your investigator can acquire Damage and Horror (hearts and brains), which are the immediate afflictions on his/her health and sanity. (P7) These tokens do not carry over from game to game.

Investigators can also acquire Physical and Mental Trauma (P5, under Campaign Play) often due to consequences of how the game ended - these are recorded on the campaign sheet and determine how much Damage and Horror your investigator starts the next game with. If you're at the end of a campaign, or playing Standalone Mode, they can be seen as a measure of how messed up your investigator was by the end.
5 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike W
United States
Silverdale
Washington
flag msg tools
The definition of "Game" clarifies it for me. Appreciate all the help!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.