Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Axis & Allies 1941» Forums » Rules

Subject: Air Units in Land Combat Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mike Marentette
Canada
Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Can air units be attacked by land units in land combat? For example, it seems odd that an infantry unit can take out a fighter.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark J.
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
Yes, any unit can attack an enemy unit in the same space--i.e. land territory or Sea Zone.

Each piece in the game represents a rather large force. An infantry unit represents a division or corps sized unit, which would have anti-aircraft guns included in the unit. I've always thought of Infantry units in A&A representing non-motorized divisions and Tank units representing mechanized divisions.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
TTM07 wrote:
Yes, any unit can attack an enemy unit in the same space--i.e. land territory or Sea Zone.

... with the exceptions (noted in the rules) that air units can't hit subs unless there's a friendly destroyer in the battle, and subs can't hit air units under any circumstances.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Marentette
Canada
Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Makes sense. Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.