GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
9,778 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
16 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Dark Horse: Rebels & Rogues» Forums » Rules

Subject: Hiring characters and gaining reputation rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Markus Weihrauch
Germany
Frankfurt
Hessen
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi all,

I have not completely understood when excatly you gain the reputation tokens. There is an example in the rules that tells you may gain 2 white when hiring a character. And hiring means you play it from your hand, right? So you don't directly gain/lose reputation when you draw this chracter?

But what happens to the charcter in the example, where the player with 3 white hats hires a charcter with 2 black hats? For once he goes down only 1 white (that much is clear). But as the player is still a "lawful" one, does he have to put this character face down? So basically is it allowed to play a character face down?

Thanks,
Markus
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Don Lloyd
United States
Colorado Springs
CO
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
JoystickZ wrote:
Hi all,

I have not completely understood when excatly you gain the reputation tokens. There is an example in the rules that tells you may gain 2 white when hiring a character. And hiring means you play it from your hand, right? So you don't directly gain/lose reputation when you draw this chracter?

But what happens to the charcter in the example, where the player with 3 white hats hires a charcter with 2 black hats? For once he goes down only 1 white (that much is clear). But as the player is still a "lawful" one, does he have to put this character face down? So basically is it allowed to play a character face down?

Thanks,
Markus

Hi Markus, you are correct that you do not gain/lose reputation until you play the card (hire the character). All of the cards in Dark Horse represent an opportunity that has not been taken whether it is an Action, Progress, or Character card.

Yes, you can play a character face down after hiring the character. In fact, that is a tactic we used quite a bit in playtesting. Players would hire a few White Hat characters at the beginning of the game but make sure to keep their Reputation low. Then they would hire a few Black Hat characters and at some point change their Reputation to Black Hat, flip all of their White Hat characters face down and then all of their Black Hat characters face up.


3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.