Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

The Pursuit of Happiness» Forums » Rules

Subject: Cost of finishing basic projects rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dr. Cthulhu
msg tools
So quick question since I can't seem to find it in the rules: how does finishing a basic project actually work? Do you spend one hourglass marker to finish the project and then pay an extra hourglass marker and required resources. Or do you just pay one hourglass and required resources. Paying two hour glasses to finish a project seems so expensive?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adrian Abela
Malta
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmb
Yes, you have to spend one hourglass marker to finish the project and any other resources (and time) shown on the card.

It's meant to be expensive, because the last level generally gives you a really nice reward.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dr. Cthulhu
msg tools
Thanks for the quick reply! I always play it that way, but it always bugged me.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Neale
United States
Delaware
flag msg tools
designer
badge
"The game is afoot!"
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So to check I have this right: To go up a level in a basic project you always use an hour glass (placing it on the project card) and then pay the cost to go up the level, and then take the reward. If the cost also shows an hourglass, you pay that as well, so will have two hourglasses on the card (but presumably the second hourglass doesn't cause stress in this case?).

And this would also mean you could take a project and pay L1 costs, and then put an hourglass on the card and pay L2 costs to go up a level on the same turn. (and then go up to L3 for your next action if you're prepared to take stress).

Is all of that correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevor Schadt
United States
Glenshaw
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
whitescar wrote:
So to check I have this right: To go up a level in a basic project you always use an hour glass (placing it on the project card) and then pay the cost to go up the level, and then take the reward. If the cost also shows an hourglass, you pay that as well, so will have two hourglasses on the card (but presumably the second hourglass doesn't cause stress in this case?).

And this would also mean you could take a project and pay L1 costs, and then put an hourglass on the card and pay L2 costs to go up a level on the same turn. (and then go up to L3 for your next action if you're prepared to take stress).

Is all of that correct?
Most of it is correct. The part that is not is the part that concerns Stress.

You only take Stress when you perform the same board action more than once in a round. You can perform the same card action as many times in a round as you want, and take no stress.

So, in your second example, you could take the project from L1 to L3 in one turn without taking any Stress.

Other than that, spot on.
1 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lawrence Myers
United States
Hillsboro
Oregon
flag msg tools
http://playtmg.com/
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We put the extra hourglass (the one used as a requirement of the project) on the "Spent Time" space on the game board. Just seems more thematic for some reason.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Kløve
Denmark
Hillerød
flag msg tools
badge
The man in black fled across the desert, and the gunslinger followed
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Bogusgig wrote:
We put the extra hourglass (the one used as a requirement of the project) on the "Spent Time" space on the game board. Just seems more thematic for some reason.


As do we.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
kos blaat
Netherlands
flag msg tools
mbmb
whitescar wrote:

And this would also mean you could take a project and pay L1 costs, and then put an hourglass on the card and pay L2 costs to go up a level on the same turn. And then go up to L3 for your next action.


Is it really allowed in one and the same turn to place 3 hourglass markers, and go up 3 levels at once, even if you had these? Would that not go against the idea that a Round goes from player to player who in his/her turn can do 1 action (place 1 marker)? It feels a bit overpowering.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vangelis Bagiartakis
Greece
Athens
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can do what is described in the same round but on different turns. Not everything at once.

So you take the Project, everyone else plays, you advance it to L2, everyone else plays again and you then advance it to L3.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.