Martin Hoefer
Germany
Hambuehren
Niedersachsen
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
The idea:
I work as a Sales Consultant so I am on the road quite a lot. One of my favourite things to do while in the car is listening to podcasts. Some time ago I ordered and played the fantastic Leaving Earth which renewed my long sleeping interest in space. So, one day I downloaded an episode from the German site "Raumzeit" which does regular podcasts on space. This one had a guest from the "Part Time Scientists" who will try to land two lunar rovers on the moon in early 2018. They take part in the Google Lunar XPrize - contest. 30 million $ for a team that manages to land a rover on the moon and drive 500 meters. When listening to that podcast I immediately had a game in mind - LUNAR ROVER!

The game:
So far I have only played three two-player-games with my son, so up to now this is for two players. Each player has three rovers that survey the environment, conduct experiments, collect samples and take pictures on the moon. For this they get victory points (1 point for each photograph-cube, 2 points for each sample-cube and three points for each (seismic) experiment-cube. The three rovers are the following:

Lunar Explorer:

The Lunar Explorer is the best Surveyor and has the best photographic equipment. He also has the most movement points. He can only carry four samples though.

Lunar Scientist:

The Lunar Scientist is a workhorse. He can collect up to four samples in a turn, can perform seismic experiments up to the worth of four and has a sample cargo of six. His surveying skills and his photographic abilities are mediocre though.

Lunar Cargo:

This rover really only has one big benefit: His large cargo. He can carry up to 12 samples and may also collect up to two samples a turn (not having to roll a die for this).