Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

The Great Dinosaur Rush» Forums » Rules

Subject: A few questions after one play rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Charles
Argentina
Buenos Aires
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We enjoyed our first game together (5 players) a great deal, but we encountered a few passages in the manual that we felt were a bit ambiguous and/or could have used some clarification. I have bolded the passages in question below along with some comments and suggestions:

1) Section "ROUNDS, TURNS AND PHASES" on Page 5 includes a breakdown of the game's rounds that visually makes "End Field Phase" a component of each "Field Phase (x3)". We assumed this was a mistake, as the text on page 7 states that "End Field Phase" occurs only after three "Field Phases". Maybe a new "Cleanup Phase" that includes the additional Collect Bones and the End Field Phase actions could be wedged between the Field Phase and the Build Phase to avoid confusion (and the clunkiness of the "only third time through field phase" provision).

2) Section "COLLECT BONES" on Page 6 reads: "On the first turn of the game, the paleontologist will not be in a dig site, and will not collect bones"
We couldn't find an explicit mention anywhere in the manual, but if we're reading the rules correctly, paleontologists cannot collect bones on the first turn of each round either, as they always start the last two rounds on empty spaces (after they've used the second "Collect Bones" action at the end of the previous Field Phase). Is that correct?

3) Section "BUILD PHASE" on Page 8 reads: "Existing dinosaurs built during the previous round may be dismantled or kept as a starting dinosaur for the current build phase."
We assumed the following:
a) "dismantling" effectively means returning all the bones to the player's pile, and
b) if a dinosaur is not dismantled, its bones should still be considered part of the player's pile, which means they can be donated, must be visible to all players, etc.
Did we get this right? We were a bit thrown off by the idea that dinosaurs created on previous rounds can be dismantled only during the Build Phase, which seems a strange restriction if the two points above are true. We did feel it would be clearer if the manual addressed what to do with the dinosaurs at the END of the Exhibit Phase right after scoring them.

4) Example on Page 10 reads: "For example, the green dinosaur token is on the third row of the Height museum category, where the scores are 10, 7 and 4".
This does not seem to match the graphic, and we didn't know what to make of the "green dinosaur token"-- maybe remnant language from some earlier/prototype manual?

5) Section "END OF GAME", Page 11: "Each dinosaur bonus card that was not completed counts as three Notoriety points for the player."
Are Notoriety points earned this way still *added to the score* of all players except for the one with the highest Notoriety at the end of the game? If so, players could actually be rewarded for failing to match their bonus cards, which seems a bit counterintuitive.

Thanks in advance for any clarifications. These questions aside, we enjoyed the game a lot and the kids had a lot of fun building their prehistoric monsters


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Almes
United States
Pittsburgh
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Charles,

I'm glad you are enjoying the game. To answer your questions...

1) That's a good suggestion. I can see how that is misleading. You do only end the field phase once per round.

2) That is correct. On the first turn of each Round players will not collect bones.

3) You are correct in your a & b. All the bones are considered to be in their pile. The rule was there to let players know that they can leave their dinosaur assembled if they wish, or can dismantle it. May if we just say they should consider all the bones in their personal pile it will be more clear.

4) This will be corrected in the future.

5) Correct. If players do not fulfill bonus cards, then they gain notoriety. It can benefit them, if they don't have the most after that. But, in most cases, 3 notoriety points can be a big deal, so it's possible to make them have most notoriety, which could lose them the game. Having one unfulfilled bonus card is probably safe. If you have two, well you probably just got the most notoriety and put yourself in a very large disadvantage.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Charles
Argentina
Buenos Aires
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Many thanks for the clarifications, Scott. Interesting about that last rule. Forces you to keep closer tabs on how the others are doing and at the same time encourages a less conservative use of the "Research" action, as incomplete bonus cards aren't an automatic liability.

Like I said I feel this one's a keeper, and I'm sure it will see a lot of table time
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.