Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Citadels» Forums » Rules

Subject: Witch and Emperor Question. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark Kelley
United States
New York
flag msg tools
Tonight I was playing Citadels by Bruno Faidutti's. We had a debate involving the witch and the emperor.

The witch reads: After you take an action, announce the title of another character who you wish to bewitch and then immediately end your turn. When the bewitched character is called upon, its player must show his character card, take an action, and then immediately end his turn. The bewitched character cannot use his characters ability before you take over. You now resume this player's turn as if you were playing the bewitched character, using all the character's powers in your city. You can still build districts from your hand of cards and pay with your gold.

The emperor reads: When the Emperor is called you immediately take the crown from the player who has it and give it to a different player (but not yourself).

The question is -who can the player playing as the witch give the crown to.

Can they give it to themselves? We said 'no-because they are currently acting as the emperor'.
Can the player using the witch-emperor give the crown to to the player that picked the emperor?

We said 'yes, because that person is no longer the emperor'.

However, it is confusing. Is that person REALLY still the emperor if their turn got hijacked? They are not acting as the emperor at that time.

There are two possible results – either the witch player is the emperor and can give it to anyone besides themselves OR the witch player is not technically the emperor and could potentially grant themselves the crown. Which do you think is correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
bruno faidutti
France
PARIS
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
The Witch plays as if she were the emperor, and can give the crown to anyone except herself.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Kelley
United States
New York
flag msg tools
Thank you for the answer, Bruno!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
But if the Emperor is suppose to transfer the crown 'immediately when called', then that would be before the Emperor player gathers their resources, which is before the witch takes control of that role. ??
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Doremus
United States
New Jersey
flag msg tools
According to the rule book for the Emperor, "At some point during your turn, you must take the crown from the player who has it and give it to a different player, but not yourself."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
MisterApricot wrote:
According to the rule book for the Emperor, "At some point during your turn, you must take the crown from the player who has it and give it to a different player, but not yourself."

Then that sounds like it would have to happen after the 'gather resources' which must be done at the start of your turn. And then according to bewitched rules, after resources are gathered, the rest of the turn belongs to the witch. So the witch decides who gets the crown.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.