Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Barbarossa» Forums » Rules

Subject: tiebreaker question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Graham Strauss
Canada
Edmonton
Alberta
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Once a player conquers Moscow the game ends. Moscow is the single most valuable city.

The first tie breaker is the most valuable city; Always Moscow.

Why bother with the second tie breaker, number of city cards? Should it come first?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Licata
United States
Bel Air
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My guess would be just because someone conquered Moscow doesn't mean they have enough points to win. So the second tiebreaker would be for two players either of whom did not conquer Moscow and are tied for their most valuable city.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Salvato
United States
Carol Stream
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In a 2-player game of Barbarossa, you are correct - the player who takes Moscow has the ultimate tiebreaker. The other tie breaking conditions exist for 3- and 4-player games where two players can be tied for most VPs but a third player conquered Moscow to end the game but came up with fewer VPs.

Additionally, if you want to track additional places for some reason, the city values come into play for ties for 2nd, 3rd, etc.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.