Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

No Retreat! The Russian Front» Forums » Rules

Subject: Intentional overstacking rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Yomtov
United States
San Jose
California
flag msg tools
mb
Can units be intentionally overstacked, in a sacrifice play?

Example: In order to save an unsupplied 5-3, can the Soviets move a 3-3 adjacent, then have the 5-3 move onto it, with the intention of sending the 3-3 to the Shattered box at the end of the movement phase, thereby saving their 5-3?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
montreal
Québec
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Liebchen wrote:
Can units be intentionally overstacked, in a sacrifice play?

Example: In order to save an unsupplied 5-3, can the Soviets move a 3-3 adjacent, then have the 5-3 move onto it, with the intention of sending the 3-3 to the Shattered box at the end of the movement phase, thereby saving their 5-3?


Excellent question! YES you can absolutely do this.

In fact... Look at the example of play and quiz on page 18 of the scenario booklet of the game (Save Smolensk and the Bryansk front): That exact case is pictured and explained. meeple
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wifbert Boye
Canada
flag msg tools
In the question as posed, it could well be better to shatter the 5-3 if the Germans have any cards in hand, since they could place a counterblow and if the result is 'CA' they get a 2 column shift right.

However after the Russians get their strategic reserve marker, another alternative is to place either one of the units in strategic reserve (rules say you need to be in supply to rail but the strategic reserve rule says "check now"). That way you don't lose the benefit of having one of the units during the German turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Loïc Boué
France
VITRY SUR SEINE
Val de Marne
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I think when an unsupplied unit is removed because of overstacking, it goes in the destroyed box instead.
But it's still better than being eliminated while unsupplied (surrender box and 1 VP loss).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.