Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Star Wars: Imperial Assault» Forums » Rules

Subject: Pushing and ending movement rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mathieu
Canada
Quebec
flag msg tools
Beep! Boop!
badge
Boop! Boing!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If a figure gets pushed by an ability, is it considered to have ended it's movement? (relevant for the moment of fate mission campaign)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Borgoto wrote:
If a figure gets pushed by an ability, is it considered to have ended it's movement? (relevant for the moment of fate mission campaign)

Yes. It counts. Note also that a figure cannot be pushed in a way such that it ends its movement in a space where it cannot end movement. In other words, follow all the movement rules, but the movement is controlled by a different player to the usual one.

Edit: So in the mission you are calling out:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
A figure pushed into the Sarlaac Pit will suffer 10 damage immediately.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmb
Keep in mind that this wouldn't count as voluntarily ending movement. Not sure if that matters for the mission...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
csouth154 wrote:
Keep in mind that this wouldn't count as voluntarily ending movement. Not sure if that matters for the mission...

It actually does.

Spoiler (click to reveal)
In this mission, impassable terrain does not block movement, but voluntarily moving through an impassable boundary makes you suffer two strain. That won't happen if you Push a figure into the Sarlaac Pit, which is surrounded by impassable terrain edges.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mathieu
Canada
Quebec
flag msg tools
Beep! Boop!
badge
Boop! Boing!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Spoiler (click to reveal)
Just to be sure, if someone is pushed into the sarlaac, he does take the 10 damage? I just did the mission playing with this and with Onar having Haymaker it was almost impossible to do anything, he could push a figure from almost anywhere on the map to the pit.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think you should check my edited-in spoiler text in my first reply, Borgoto. I think you may have missed it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mathieu
Canada
Quebec
flag msg tools
Beep! Boop!
badge
Boop! Boing!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Clipper wrote:
I think you should check my edited-in spoiler text in my first reply, Borgoto. I think you may have missed it.


Yes I had sorry
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
RRG specifically says that Push is a form of movement. All restrictions and exceptions to movement apply.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Baldwin
United States
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
PUSH (RRG)
Spoiler (click to reveal)
Push
Some abilities push figures. The player resolving this ability moves
the figure the specified number of spaces.
• The figure can be moved in any direction. It does not need to
move directly away from the figure using the push ability.
• A pushed figure is not voluntarily exiting its space.
• Pushing a figure requires no movement points.
• If a non-ability effect pushes a figure, such as a mission rule or
if a door closes between two spaces occupied by a large figure,
the player controlling that figure determines its placement.
• While pushing a large figure, it cannot move diagonally and
cannot be rotated.


While it says "A figure can be moved...", it does not explicitly say that it is a form of movement. I read that as "physically move the piece".

Can anyone point out explicitly where the rules state that the completion of a push constitutes that figure having ended its movement?

Just that phrase "ended its movement" indicates that the movement belongs to the figure. Can you really argue that getting pushed is a movement owned by you?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The definition of Push:
RRG - Push wrote:
The player resolving this ability moves
the figure the specified number of spaces.

The figure 'moves'. It is moving. It ends this movement at the end of the Push.

Sorry if I am a little terse on this one, but we had a long, fruitless argument a few months ago about whether a figure that is being placed is ending movement (officially confirmed that it does by the way) and I don't want to go down that rabbit hole again.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Baldwin
United States
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Do you happen to have that official reply saved somewhere?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Methantilus wrote:
Do you happen to have that official reply saved somewhere?

You can find it in this post.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Baldwin
United States
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Thank you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.