Subject: Six Rookies Playing Eclipse rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Art Wright
msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Saturday, Jan. 21, 2017

This is my first time writing a session report. Thanks for reading! Our gaming group gets together about once a month for our usual fare: Lords of Waterdeep, 7 Wonders, Roll for the Galaxy, Dead of Winter, and other medium-weight games. We’re an adventurous group, and are always eager to play a new game. Keith, our host, got Eclipse for Christmas, and we all wanted to give it a shot, but it would be by far the heaviest weight game we’ve played to date. I want to share how our session went as a way to report back to others who might be thinking about giving this game a shot. This won’t be a play-by-play, but I hope to paint how the game went in broad strokes. We had a great time and I want to share some thoughts about how we approached the evening and about how much fun we had!

There were six of us playing, with a handful of others hanging out for the evening.

Pre-Game
Keith did a great job setting the tone and prepping us for the game. He sent out links to rules posted online, as well as a video or two with a game overview. I started a thread here on BGG to request some tips from experienced players for our first game, and shared that link with the group in advance. We got some great tips from the BGG community. All six of us showed up Saturday evening having read the rules, and that made things go a lot more smoothly. Keith set things up while we were arriving as well—it took him 30 to 45 minutes to set up the board! We spent some time reviewing the basics of the rules before getting underway shortly after 6:30pm.

Early Game