Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Comanchería: The Rise and Fall of the Comanche Empire» Forums » Rules

Subject: Multiple free instructions? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Hugh Grotius
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I just got the game, and I'm loving it So far! The tutorial sets a gold standard for a great example of play.

One question. If I had 2 Rancherias with finished tribes and each rolled poorly in the cleanup phase, would I execute one free instruction or two?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Throwin Rocks
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I've been playing "two."
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
West Ward Hough
United States
Katy
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rules wrote:
3.4 Opeation Cleanup Phase
Step 2: Roll a die for each Ranchería with Finished Bands. If the
die roll is ≤ the number of Finished Bands in that Ranchería, the
Enemy will execute one free Instruction. Execute Instructions
as per 6.2.2.B.


I would read that as executing a free instruction for each die that ends up less than or equal to the number of Finished Bands. So in your example, two.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
champalaune christ
France
echirolles
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Step 2: Roll a die for each Ranchería with Finished Bands. If the
die roll is ≤ the number of Finished Bands in that Ranchería, the
Enemy will execute one free Instruction. Execute Instructions
as per 6.2.2.B.


I understand ONE free Instruction whatever the number of poorly die roll .

Imagine 4 Rancherias and 4 free instructions, that would be destructive,

I hope I am not wrong,


Christ from France
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Miller
United Kingdom
Newport
Gwent
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
champalaune wrote:
Step 2: Roll a die for each Ranchería with Finished Bands. If the
die roll is ≤ the number of Finished Bands in that Ranchería, the
Enemy will execute one free Instruction. Execute Instructions
as per 6.2.2.B.


I understand ONE free Instruction whatever the number of poorly die roll .

Imagine 4 Rancherias and 4 free instructions, that would be destructive,

I hope I am not wrong,


Christ from France


I understand it the other way around - If it was only one free instruction evaluated after rolling each of the comparisons I'd expect it to read something like "if any die roll is ≤ the number of Finished Bands in that Ranchería" rather than what's actually written of "if the die roll" - If the die roll is indicating that I should be doing the process of evaluating if free instruction is executed and if so resolving 6.2.2.B separately for each die roll to me.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff H
United States
South Lyon
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
dhoehler wrote:
I've been playing "two."


Me too - we shall see Joel comment maybe soon!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Chick
United States
Tujunga
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
champalaune wrote:
Step 2: Roll a die for each Ranchería with Finished Bands. If the
die roll is ≤ the number of Finished Bands in that Ranchería, the
Enemy will execute one free Instruction. Execute Instructions
as per 6.2.2.B.


There is no reasonable reading of that rule that concludes there can only be one free instruction in any given clean-up phase. You roll a die for *each* rancheria. If any given die roll hits, you execute a free instruction. One die roll hitting and firing off a free instruction doesn't magically negate the first sentence in that rule (i.e. roll a die for *each* rancheria).

The gameplay implication and -- I presume -- design intent is that enemy actions are proportionate to Comanche actions. If you've been running around a bunch of bands, you're more likely to kick up a response, even if they're not necessarily raiding settlements to draw AP chits. In other word, you can't just hunt bison and trade to keep Spain and the other tribes from taking any actions. Unfinished bands invite enemy action, and the more unfinished bands, the more likely and widespread the action.

-Tom
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Toppen
United States
Gallup
New Mexico
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Preorder Navajo Wars by GMT Games
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Grotius wrote:
I just got the game, and I'm loving it So far! The tutorial sets a gold standard for a great example of play.

One question. If I had 2 Rancherias with finished tribes and each rolled poorly in the cleanup phase, would I execute one free instruction or two?



Two.

Example: Rancheria A has 1 finished band. I roll for it and roll a 1. Enemy gets a free instruction. Resolve it now.

Rancheria B has 3 finished bands. I roll a 2. Enemy gets another free instruction. Resolve it now.

Note that a different enemy could perform the second free instruction.

YES. This can get very destructive.

-Joel
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hugh Grotius
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks! I thought so; just wanted to be sure. Ugh. ;-)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
champalaune christ
France
echirolles
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I played wrong but it didn't change anything because I have finished my all campaing this morning, I have won the first three history cards and on the last , I have won poorly, because to many South settlements and two culture counters in a row and I loose my all culture points and military points very quickly,

I will begin again,


thank you ,


christ
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff H
United States
South Lyon
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yay - For once I was playing right.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.