The rules state that if you don't have action cards, you don't get a descendant. But if you only have the rival card, you don't have any cards that would determine the sex of said descendant. Thematically it would make sense that in this case you don't get a descendant. What's the rule here?
The rules state that you get a girl if you have the same number of blue and red cards or more red cards. I don't think "zero" would count as the same number of cards because you actually don't have any red or blue cards. That's the way we play anyway.