Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ryan Valdez
United States
Sugar Land
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello all! I was really curious about a few things, and figured I'd get some insight and enlightenment from the community.

Recently, I ran across Defense Grid: The Board Game, another Kickstarter co-op, tower defense-style board game with the campaign currently ongoing. While it isn't nearly as popular as VoW, the game's creators seem to have done (and are still doing) lots of playtesting, plus the game has gotten some very positive feedback. Overall, Defense Grid seems to really capture the co-op AND tower defense feel. Emphasis on "seems" so I have no experience playing it.

That being said, I'm wondering about a few aspects with VoW, specifically the following:
- How much luck is there in the game, and does it play a big or small role in any particular game's outcome (how much can luck be overcome by skill)?
- As a co-op game, are the typical obstacles like quarterbacking, downtime between turns and player involvement (as in, do some players get left out at some point?) mitigated?
- How fiddly is the game, ie, how much information upkeep with monsters, resources, items, effects, etc. is there?
- Can this game be played without the "tiers", as in, can I set this up with any group of friends, some old some new to the game, and play in a single sitting without having to go thru the "campaign" of sorts?

I haven't played LOAD, and maybe I haven't grasped all the nit-gritty details in the rulebook, so I did want to watch the 1+ hr playthrough video recently posted. I just have to find time to actually watch the whole thing lol but any insights from here would be awesome too, even if it's just speculation. Depending on finances, I may be only able to back one game (URGHHH). Thanks in advance.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kurt Bieberbach
United States
Overland Park
Kansas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb