Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Vast: The Crystal Caverns» Forums » Rules

Subject: Some doubts on tiles and tile laying rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Vijayakrishna Ranganathan
Singapore
Singapore
Singapore
flag msg tools
Have seen several videos and read several posts but some very basic doubts are still unanswered for me

1. Which characters can reveal a draw tile? Only knight and dragon?
2. Can all characters freely move on dark tiles without having to reveal it?
3. When playing without a Cave player, who places the tile every turn and how many tiles are placed?
4. Can a character which is on lit tile move over a dark tile to encounter on the lit tile next to that?
5. If the cave player is not playing, all the keen tokens etc are unused?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Leder
United States
Saint Paul
Minnesota
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. The Thief can also reveal one tile a turn but yes.
2. This is much more clear in the new rules. The Knight is obliged to explore each tile she encounters. It uses an encounter when she does.
3. Each player places a tile after their turn.
4. Yes, except of course the Knight.
5. Keen tokens?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyle
United States
Up Nort' Der
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
VAST: The...
badge
We must move forward, not backward, upward, not forward, and always twirling, twirling, twirling towards freedom!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
GreenM wrote:
5. Keen tokens?
If you mean the Vaults, those are used only when someone is playing as the Thief.

All Crystal, Event, Ambush, and Treasure tiles are used no matter which roles are being played.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vijayakrishna Ranganathan
Singapore
Singapore
Singapore
flag msg tools
Wow. Mr.Leder himself responding. Thanks a million. But your answers have create a few more. So I'll turn them into TRUE or FALSE statements.

1. Only knight, dragon and thief can reveal tiles.
2. All characters (except knight) can move over and end in dark tiles without having to reveal them. Meanwhile, Knight is obliged is to reveal the dark tiles they step/move on.
3. Where there's no cave player, each player places one and only one tile at the end of their turn, irrespective of the number of possible open sides for the source tile from where the expansion happens. The player placing the tile can orient the tiles per their choice.
4. All characters (except Knight) which is on lit tile can move over a dark tile to encounter on the lit tile next to that. Knight (as per 2 above) will be obliged to reveal the dark tile they step on, if they have the encounter ability.

Are the above statements TRUE? Of course all these are subject to their meta-rules of the characters.

A simple chart to compare the behaviour of all characters towards the common elements in the game would have been handy.

5. I meant OMEN tokens. Auto-incorrect ruined it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyle
United States
Up Nort' Der
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
VAST: The...
badge
We must move forward, not backward, upward, not forward, and always twirling, twirling, twirling towards freedom!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
BoardGameChronicles wrote:
Wow. Mr.Leder himself responding. Thanks a million. But your answers have create a few more. So I'll turn them into TRUE or FALSE statements.

1. Only knight, dragon and thief can reveal tiles.
True.

In certain variants, some players (including the Goblins) get the Flare card which provides an additional way to reveal tiles.

Quote:
2. All characters (except knight) can move over and end in dark tiles without having to reveal them. Meanwhile, Knight is obliged is to reveal the dark tiles they step/move on.
True

Quote:
3. Where there's no cave player, each player places one and only one tile at the end of their turn...
This part is true.

Quote:
...irrespective of the number of possible open sides for the source tile from where the expansion happens. The player placing the tile can orient the tiles per their choice.
When a tile is revealed, ALL open (non-wall) edges must be filled immediately regardless of which player revealed it or how it was revealed. When using the Knight or Dragon this can occur multiple times per turn.

The single tile placed at the end of a turn in non-Cave games is completely separate, and happens no matter how many other tiles were revealed or placed during the turn. That tile always gets placed with the Dark side up, and the player can choose to place it anywhere on the map.


Quote:
4. All characters (except Knight) which is on lit tile can move over a dark tile to encounter on the lit tile next to that. Knight (as per 2 above) will be obliged to reveal the dark tile they step on, if they have the encounter ability.
True.

Note that the Knight cannot move at all if she has no Encounters remaining.

Quote:
5. I meant OMEN tokens. Auto-incorrect ruined it.
Omen tokens are used only where there is a Cave player.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vijayakrishna Ranganathan
Singapore
Singapore
Singapore
flag msg tools
Brilliant. Thanks very much Kyle. Gonna play this game today. You have to see my 11-year old daughter's excitement to play this game. She's been preparing for a week!!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Rabinowitz
United States
Columbia
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Be forewarned your first game (and maybe 2nd and 3rd) will be really slow as there's a lot to learn, but I encourage you to stick with it. After you get over the learning hump it really is an easy game to play and SO entertaining.

My 9-yr-old daughter loves it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Fenton
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Woelf wrote:
Quote:
2. All characters (except knight) can move over and end in dark tiles without having to reveal them. Meanwhile, Knight is obliged is to reveal the dark tiles they step/move on.
True


Note that once awakened and surfaced, the Dragon can no longer move on dark tiles. Before awakening, it can move on dark tiles and ignores walls.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Rabinowitz
United States
Columbia
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dsdhornet wrote:
Woelf wrote:
Quote:
2. All characters (except knight) can move over and end in dark tiles without having to reveal them. Meanwhile, Knight is obliged is to reveal the dark tiles they step/move on.
True


Note that once awakened and surfaced, the Dragon can no longer move on dark tiles. Before awakening, it can move on dark tiles and ignores walls.

Before surfacing, it can move on dark tiles and ignore walls. Awake or asleep doesn't matter, only whether underground or surfaced.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Fenton
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, but you can't surface until after you've awakened. So you must be both to be thus limited.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.