Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Perdition's Mouth: Abyssal Rift» Forums » Rules

Subject: Splitting card points between actions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Frank Branham
United States
Duluth
Georgia
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
New Dia die Los Muertos. Lighter, sillier, and Stickers.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Is it legal to split an action card number across two actions? (Bash would probably be the most common).....Assuming that the card is usable for both actions.

Similarly, can a move card being used for rondel movement also be used for move action points?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Price
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
fbranham wrote:
Is it legal to split an action card number across two actions? (Bash would probably be the most common).....Assuming that the card is usable for both actions.

Similarly, can a move card being used for rondel movement also be used for move action points?


I'm going to tackle your second question first, because it applies to the first. You get an allocation of AP at the start of your turn based upon your character and health. You may then play *move numeric* cards to add more AP. When you move, in general, you spend AP per the square you are moving to (terrain cost) and the conditions affecting your movement (e.g. enemy influence). By definition, AP are your movement points - there are no separate "move points". Certain actions on the rondel will modify that - for instance, sprint allows you to draw a response card and modify your total. Aimed shot, on the other hand, allows a single square of movement with no use of AP allowed. Special is, well, special - the move there has a circle around it, so it takes *twice* the AP to move as normal.

So, the answer to AP vs. move is that it depends on the action on the rondel, but in general, AP IS your move allowance to spend on movement costs.

Getting back to your first question, you should see that you need to determine your APs before you spend them. You have the option to play further cards once you have reached your spoke on the rondel, which does include further move actions (this time not limited to numeric only though). However, you have to complete each action on the spoke of the rondel before executing the next step in that spoke. But note that some actions on the rondel allow the transfer of AP into that action - move (obviously), but also all of the circled actions, for instance attack and defended. So the value of one card can be used for multiple things, but not in the way you are asking. You don't get to divide the value on a card up. You play the card for the part of your turn you are on: get AP, boost each individual action on the spoke you moved to.

TLDR: AP is move (notice that movement costs are printed with the AP marker) and you cannot split a card between actions as you need to finish each action before starting the next.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Timo Multamäki
Finland
ASKA
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A single card always given bonuses to one action, such as attack.
So, if you boost you Charge, for instance, you can choose to boost the movement part of it (requires movement icon or all icon on the card) or you can boost the attack part of it (requires attack icon or all icon on the card). Naturally you can boost BOTH, but that would require two separate cards.

Splitting bonuses of one 'all' card between to parts of action is never allowed.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
T Owen
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
However, you have to complete each action on the spoke of the rondel before executing the next step in that spoke.


I am sorry but this is an incorrect statement.

In each spoke, if there is a series of things to complete, you must complete them from left to right. However, you may skip an item if you wish to complete the next item, you just cannot go back to complete what you have skipped. The only mandatory thing to complete in a spoke is the draw of a response card if you complete an action associated with it. Even drawing a hero card is a "you may" and not mandatory. ????
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
lowlight wrote:
Quote:
However, you have to complete each action on the spoke of the rondel before executing the next step in that spoke.


Even drawing a hero card is a "you may" and not mandatory. ????


I think you're missing the point. If an action says, you may do something, then you can complete the action simply by choosing not to do that thing.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Price
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
DaviddesJ wrote:
lowlight wrote:
Quote:
However, you have to complete each action on the spoke of the rondel before executing the next step in that spoke.


Even drawing a hero card is a "you may" and not mandatory. ????


I think you're missing the point. If an action says, you may do something, then you can complete the action simply by choosing not to do that thing.


This.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.