Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Mansions of Madness: Second Edition» Forums » Rules

Subject: Attacking with spells rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Darth Hidious
Singapore
flag msg tools
Must the caster be in the same space as the target OR can it be within range, ie, up to 3 spaces away
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Justin Robben
United States
Spring Hill
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Each spell has an attack type icon on it; either melee or range.

There's your answer!

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Here are the appropriate rules:
RRG - Spell wrote:
Some Spells, called attack spells, have an attack icon and a damage
value. Such Spells can be used to attack monsters.

RRG - Attack Action wrote:
1. Select a Attack Type: The investigator selects an Item or Spell
he has that has either a melee icon or a ranged icon.
• The investigator may choose to attack unarmed (without
using an Item or Spell).
2. Select a Monster: The investigator selects a monster from the
monster drawer to attack.
• If he has selected an Item or Spell with the melee icon or
he has chosen to attack unarmed, the monster must be in
the investigator’s space.
• If he has selected an Item or Spell with the ranged icon,
the monster can be any monster within range.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mortego
United States
New Kensington
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Right, so just to clarify; I have an attack spell and I want to use it to attack a monster in my space, my spell has a ranged weapon icon an am assuming I can use it if the monster is in my space, right?

If right then my next question is this, after I pull up the monster from the monster drawer I hit the "attack" button on the monster then a menu of attack types comes up...

Which do I select? Attack with a spell? or Attack with a ranged weapon? Attack with a melee weapon? (this one wouldn't make sense since my spell has a ranged weapon icon it).

I guess I'm asking if the icon on the attack spell only matters where the monsters is (within range or not) or does it matter also on the menu of types of attack on the app?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Spells are not Weapons.

You choose to attack with a Spell.
1 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mortego
United States
New Kensington
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.