Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Arkham Horror» Forums » Rules

Subject: Another Noob with question about Mythos cards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steven Dos Santos
United States
Hallandale
Florida
flag msg tools
Hey there!

Playing my first game ever (solo, so I can teach my group)and just wanted to clarify something about the Mythos cards.

Is it permissible to have a Rumor and an Environment card in play simultaneously, then draw, resolve, and discard a Headline card, while still keeping the other two in play? In other words, Environment cards stay in play until they are replaced by other environment cards, as do rumor cards with other rumor cards, but both types can be in play at the same time?

Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter
Switzerland
Fribourg
flag msg tools
badge
muwins.ch
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Digory wrote:
Is it permissible to have a Rumor and an Environment card in play simultaneously, then draw, resolve, and discard a Headline card, while still keeping the other two in play?

Yes.

Digory wrote:
In other words, Environment cards stay in play until they are replaced by other environment cards...

Yes.

Digory wrote:
...as do rumor cards with other rumor cards...


Not quite. Rumor cards only leave play once they are resolved (either by succeeding or failing the task). If you draw another Rumor in the meantime, only do the Gate and Monster movement parts and then discard it.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Sacco
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
Sauron was not of mortal flesh, he could never again appear fair to the eyes of Men, yet his spirit arose & returned to Mordor. There he dwelt, dark & silent, until he wrought a new guise, an image of malice & hatred made visible; the Eye of Sauron.
badge
One moment only it stared out as from some great window immeasurably high there stabbed a flame of red, the flicker of a piercing Eye. The Eye was not turned on them, it gazed north but Frodo at that dreadful glimpse fell as one stricken mortally.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes. A rumor and an Environmental Card may both be in play at the same time.

Just a quick note about what you wrote. Environmental Cards will replace other Environmental cards; BUT Rumor cards do not replace other rumor cards. If a rumor is in play and you draw a second rumor card...the new rumor card's special text is ignored; but all other effects of the card take effect. Page 12 Activate Mythos Ability.

Also quick note about rumors...if you draw one during Game Set-Up you discard it and draw until you get a non-rumor card. Page 5 Draw & Resolve Mythos Card.

Hope this helps.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven Dos Santos
United States
Hallandale
Florida
flag msg tools
Thanks so much for your feedback!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tibs
United States
Amherst
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Tiny technicality that you should be aware of. Mythos cards are handled in this order:

1. Open gate/spawn monster.
2. Place clues
3. Move monsters
4. Apply mythos text effect

Environments do replace other environments, but they only do so during the part of the Arkham Encounter phase where you're asked to resolve the Mythos text (step 4 above).

This means that a new Environment effect that e.g. makes all monsters move an additional space won't affect monster movement, even the monsters it moved right now, until next turn.

This also means that if you're playing with Ithaqua (who "cancels" weather Environment cards), you would do all of steps 1 through 3 before deciding that the environment effect does nothing and is discarded.

8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.