Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Merchants & Marauders» Forums » Rules

Subject: Play glory card rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Martin Savard
Canada
Laval
flag msg tools
mbmb
When playing Glory card...do you discard it after? Or we keep it?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carsten Jorgensen
Denmark
flag msg tools
Discard it. Unless a specialist - these are keept on your player board. I also recall a single glory card, which you may keep in hand after use, if you discard a Rum cargo card.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Savard
Canada
Laval
flag msg tools
mbmb
Thanks... it's was not very clear in rules that you must discard after play
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Einmal ist keinmal
United States
Andover
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
You'll Never Walk Alone
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, discarded. In fact, one of the captain abilities allows the owning player to take discarded Glory cards.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Savard
Canada
Laval
flag msg tools
mbmb
In the rules you discard glory cards if you have more than 4 glory cards, that captain can choose one of them...

But in the rules it's really not clear that you must discarded the glory card after playing it.

It's evident that you must discarded, because it will give to much power to keep it... but where in the rules we can find that?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
PFGamer
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Page 12 of the rule book talks about Glory cards, but you're right--it doesn't explicitly say that Glory cards must be discarded after use.

I don't have any Glory cards in front of me at the moment, but my guess is that most non-Specialist cards say on the card itself what to do after it's played. I own several games where the cards themselves say what to do after use, as it minimizes the number of exceptions that have to be explained.

Is this right, folks? Is it printed on the cards but not in the rules?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pouyan A.
United States
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
AfrikaKorps14 wrote:
Page 12 of the rule book talks about Glory cards, but you're right--it doesn't explicitly say that Glory cards must be discarded after use.

I don't have any Glory cards in front of me at the moment, but my guess is that most non-Specialist cards say on the card itself what to do after it's played. I own several games where the cards themselves say what to do after use, as it minimizes the number of exceptions that have to be explained.

Is this right, folks? Is it printed on the cards but not in the rules?


It's not always printed on the cards to discard them. But I've always discarded them after playing them. It feels too powerful to hold on to a glory card for essentially the entire game and play it non-stop. Can you imagine the "Pardon" glory card being played non-stop? Too unfair!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
PFGamer
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I agree. There's too much language elsewhere in the rules that at least implies "discard after use".

An interesting study, though, would be to play a few sessions where you do NOT discard them and whatever cards you get, that's what you have for the duration. If you get a card that doesn't apply to you, well, bad luck. Granted, this would unbalance some or even most sessions, but as an academic exercise, it would be very interesting to see how this change would affect play balance overall.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.