Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

T.I.M.E Stories: A Prophecy of Dragons» Forums » General

Subject: Magic and Combat??? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tim Vail
United States
Brownsburg
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I am so confused by this???

If you are in a fight with someone can I use a spell and attack?

For instance, the hobbit....can I use a spell to get rid of some shields for no TU cost then roll for combat to see how much damage I do?

He has one spell that is specifically for Combat so I am guessing that one would be the Action i spent for the TU. But he has other spells that do not use TU.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Cooper
United Kingdom
Taunton
Somerset
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think these rules are on the Base setup cards (wildly paraphrasing from memory)...

1. In combat, only combat spells may be used.

2. Combat spells may only be used in combat.

3. If you use a combat spell, that is your action for the TU.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Hostetler
United States
Warminster
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Along these same lines, are you able to perform a generic 'magical attack' without actually casting a spell?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Spirio
Austria
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Only if the test is for Magic
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jesse Chapman
United States
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Jack Spirio wrote:
Only if the test is for Magic


Can you elaborate on this, and perhaps provide some official ruling evidence?

If I don't have any magical potion supplies, can I just roll my magic level to attack an enemy? Let's say I'm the alchemist, which means my magic is a 3, but I don't have supplies. Can I just roll three and do a generic attack?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Spirio
Austria
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
no, because it is a fight check
as with every test in the game you are only allowed to use the corresponding skill, but the scenario rules tell you that you can use either close combat or shooting to fight and that you can use combat spells
nowhere does it tells you that you can use magic as your skill for the test
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Cooper
United Kingdom
Taunton
Somerset
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
waitreally wrote:
Can you elaborate on this, and perhaps provide some official ruling evidence?

Spoiler (click to reveal)
Base-D wrote:
COMBAT
Most enemies will bear this generic combat symbol. [red pennent] In this case, characters can participate in combat using any skill with a red background color, as well as certain spells.

The bold is my emphasis. You cannot using a character's innate magic skill because that icon is purple.

Sharpen up those comprehension skills agent, before Bob revokes your license.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jesse Chapman
United States
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So then is it true that
Spoiler (click to reveal)
there are places in the game where I can literally be stuck? Like in Limbo... you have to use magic to attack those cards. If I'm out of supplies, what are my options? Just leave and go get more supplies?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Spirio
Austria
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
These are Magic test, this means you need the magic ability to complete it but you need no ingredients for this. If you have no mages with you (or they die) then you can't pass this section.
But as you do not need this section at all, this is not so bad.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.