lotus dweller
Australia
Melbourne
Victoria
flag msg tools
A question for RSP's religious people:
How do you relate your religion to Islamic refugees coming to your country?

Clearly the temptation is for cynics to tell you what you believe and then criticise you for not acting in accordance with those imposed beliefs.

Whilst that approach might be emotionally satisfying for a minute or two perhaps we can cope with more than our fantasies.

Do you see your religion having teachings that bear upon how Islamic refugees are to be treated?

Do you exemplify the application of those teachings in your approach to Islamic refugees coming to your country or do you find that there are other factors that have you acting at variance to those teachings?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lynette
United States
Richland
Washington
flag msg tools
Yep, I am a girl Scientist. Come for the breasts; Stay for the brains!
badge
For as long as I shall live I will testify to love; I'll be a witness in the silences when words are not enough.
mbmbmbmbmb

Well I contacted a refugee organization over a year and a half ago and volunteered to help house a family in my city.

They said they have more people willing to help at this point than people being allowed in, so I should write my congress and senators.

Which I did.

Right now there are more people in the USA willing to help than even Obama's government was willing to let in. With Trump's assholry... who knows how much harder it is going to be to help directly.

But for the record I have gotten several e-mails from CHRISTIAN organizations asking me to write to the new government and make clear the Christian community wants the USA to let more refugees in. Screen them... sure, but LET THEM IN so we can help them.

Additionally many other agencies are sending aid overseas to help.

So many many Christians obviously feel as I do that our faith calls us to offer help to all people in need, no matter their nationality or faith.

Thumb up