Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

SeaFall» Forums » Rules

Subject: Breaking a tie in an event [Box 5 spoilers] rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Griffin Donohue
United States
Catonsville
MD
flag msg tools
Hey all,

This question came up in our most recent (10th) game of Seafall. It specifically regards an event that came out of Box 5, but I suppose it could be useful in a general sense as well.

Spoiler (click to reveal)
We drew the event "We Poison Your Wells" which has us all compare Builder's Guild society members, and then something bad happens to the person with the highest ranking member. But in our case, nobody HAD any society members.

We chose to break this tie by having it happen to the person with the highest title card, as per the rulebook's description of how to break a tie, but some of us still felt it a bit odd that we could be afflicted with the negatives even though we didn't have anyone who'd be doing the sabotaging.

In this case, the negative effect had no actual effect on the highest titled person, but we want to make sure before our next game if we played it correctly.


Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua Addington
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmb
In our game, if no one has the item/advisor that would trigger the card, the event consequence doesn't get triggered. So if no one had one of those advisors, no one would have been affected by the card.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
j n
United States
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
We have also been playing these as no effect if nobody has the appropriate advisor, but I could see ruling either way.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Charles Waterman
United States
Commerce Township
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
What if no one has a rank VISIBLE on their builder's guild advisors?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Kraack
United States
Boston
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
montebanc wrote:
What if no one has a rank VISIBLE on their builder's guild advisors?


Spoiler (click to reveal)
When an event instructs you to do something like this, you shine the light of truth on all advisors belonging to all players, to determine who has the highest ranked advisor. So nobody gets to keep their advisor's ranks secret during these events.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua Addington
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmb
sabash wrote:
montebanc wrote:
What if no one has a rank VISIBLE on their builder's guild advisors?


Spoiler (click to reveal)
When an event instructs you to do something like this, you shine the light of truth on all advisors belonging to all players, to determine who has the highest ranked advisor. So nobody gets to keep their advisor's ranks secret during these events.


source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/24090305#24090305
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.