Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Polis: Fight for the Hegemony» Forums » Rules

Subject: Retreat decision - who declares first? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
BrentS
Australia
Sydney
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In our game yesterday this question came up. Although battle does not feature in many games of Polis, it did in this one. It's actually a good way to force incremental Prestige shifts when both players are low in Prestige. In those circumstances, it's quite important to determine who blinks first and it wasn't clear to us from the rules.

Thanks,

Brent.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Asimakis
Australia
Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
There is no set order for this in the rules.
One declares a retreat before drawing replacement cards at the end of a round of battle.

The rules do say that the "attacker always draws two cards, but the defender draws one card less for every loss he suffered."
Then the attacker/defender roles switch.

If you want you could infer from this that the attacker replaces cards first, defender second.

That would clarify who would retreat for you.

It is usually clear from the state of the battle who is winning/losing, making it obvious who is likely to retreat if able.

Dramatic turnarounds in the battle from round to round do happen.
It's part of the richness of the gameplay.

PLB.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.