Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
18 Posts

Scythe» Forums » Rules

Subject: Resources rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Aschwin Kollenaar
Netherlands
Emmen
flag msg tools
Hello,

If you have units and some resources on a
Hex,and you move your units and for some reason , leave your resources behind.
Are these resources still yours?.

Thank you
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Klaus Kristiansen
Denmark
Kongens Lyngby
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, provided you have a structure in the territory. Otherwise no.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Reverend Uncle Bastard
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Unapologetic Continual Troublemaker!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Klaus O K wrote:
Yes, provided you have a structure in the territory. Otherwise no.


To be clear, you must control a hex in order to control the resources that are there. So the hex must have a unit of yours, or a structure of yours and no enemy units, for you to control those resources. If you have no units or structures in the hex, or a structure but enemy units, then you no longer control those resources.

If you no longer control the resources, you cannot spend them.

Never leave resources behind with something to control them.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Wise
United States
Tupelo
Mississippi
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The only reason that I've come up with to leave resources uncontrolled would be to lure an opponent into a hex as a trap.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tor Iver Wilhelmsen
Norway
Oslo
Unspecified
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
aspiringloser wrote:
The only reason that I've come up with to leave resources uncontrolled would be to lure an opponent into a hex as a trap.

But make sure the resources are not of a type they can use for their bottom-row action under movement, otherwise you just present them with a gift...

There is hardly ever a reason not to bring the resources with you when you vacate a hex.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Wise
United States
Tupelo
Mississippi
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Fair enough. I never thought about. If they can use the resources on the bottom row action which is paired with their move action, your trap backfired.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mad Halfling
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Likewise if your opponent can attack a hex of yours that has resources on - if those resoureces are usable for the action underneath their move, if they win the combat they can immediately spend at least some of those resources before you can get the chance to win them back.

Of course only really dispicable players would do this, and I'm definitely not among their number. Definitely not. No, Siree.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Laudermilk
United States
Orange County
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nope. Neither am I. NEVER done that. Ever. whistlearrrh
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Wise
United States
Tupelo
Mississippi
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
After some consideration, I can no longer see a feasible reason to use resources as a lure for a trap. Unless an opponent brings a considerable amount of their own resources int the hex you left your resources in, the most you can cause them to lose is up to 7 power and maybe some combat cards. Since power and combat cards are worth nothing at game's end but resources are worth something, it doesn't seem like my trap plan would be worth executing. Thanks for the enlightenment!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aschwin Kollenaar
Netherlands
Emmen
flag msg tools
Thank you for all the replies.
Its all clear now.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul H
United States
Phoenix
Arizona
flag msg tools
Why aren't you at your post?
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
He who controls the Hex, controls the Resources.

The Hexes must flow.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Young
Canada
Victoria
BC
flag msg tools
Old Ways Are Best!
badge
Check Six!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Shouldn't that be the "resources must flow?"
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alessio Massuoli
Italy
Terni
Umbria
flag msg tools
They await the King
badge
The Snarky Sloth
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, It must be the Hexes. It's a quote from Dune.

He who controls the A, controls the B.
The A must flow.

(Just for completeness, A=Spice, B=Universe in the original).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Young
Canada
Victoria
BC
flag msg tools
Old Ways Are Best!
badge
Check Six!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
t3clis wrote:
No, It must be the Hexes. It's a quote from Dune.

He who controls the A, controls the B.
The A must flow.

(Just for completeness, A=Spice, B=Universe in the original).
Hmm, have to look it up - I thought the quote was, "He who controls Dune, controls the Spice," and the yada-yada...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Doug Stewart
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What happens if you take resources with you into combat? If you lose, does the defender get to keep the resources?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Buetow
United States
McHenry
Illinois
flag msg tools
Combat Commander Archivist
badge
Move! Advance! Fire! Rout! Recover! Artillery Denied! Artillery Request! Command Confusion...say what?!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
zamoose wrote:
What happens if you take resources with you into combat? If you lose, does the defender get to keep the resources?


p.23 wrote:
LOSER: The loser must retreat all of their units—mechs, characters, and workers—from the combat territory to their home base (pick up those units and put them down on their home base). All resources those units were carrying remain on the territory and are now under the control of the winner.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevor Schadt
United States
Glenshaw
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
zamoose wrote:
What happens if you take resources with you into combat? If you lose, does the defender get to keep the resources?
The resources stay on the hex, so yes, if the defender wins the combat, the defender would retain the resources.

EDIT: ninja
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Klure Junior
United States
Oceanside
California
flag msg tools
Essssssss Teeeeee EYE!
badge
My Dog Abi
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ryudoowaru wrote:
zamoose wrote:
What happens if you take resources with you into combat? If you lose, does the defender get to keep the resources?
The resources stay on the hex, so yes, if the defender wins the combat, the defender would retain the resources.


While I agree, and the rules clearly state that, thematically there is no reason the Supplies being carried in the Mech would not return home with the mech since the Mech was not destroyed, just damaged and had to retreat home..... sorta.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.