Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

No Retreat! The Russian Front» Forums » Rules

Subject: Retreats rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lukas Kotek
Czech Republic
Prague
flag msg tools
Hi,

can anybody help me to decipher new errata. It says:

[10.7.5] Retreats
When required to retreat, the defender must move his units two hexes further
away from the battle (i.e., they cannot zig-zag and end up retreating only one
hex further away), toward a friendly Supply Source and/or not into an
EZOC (even in a friendly unit hex) if possible, within these restrictions.


So can I retreat via friendly units which are adjecent to enemy? Thanks.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt R
United States
DFW
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
chomski wrote:
Hi,

can anybody help me to decipher new errata. It says:

[10.7.5] Retreats
When required to retreat, the defender must move his units two hexes further
away from the battle (i.e., they cannot zig-zag and end up retreating only one
hex further away), toward a friendly Supply Source and/or not into an
EZOC (even in a friendly unit hex) if possible, within these restrictions.


So can I retreat via friendly units which are adjecent to enemy? Thanks.


Yes, but if you end the movement stacked with another unit and the stacking rules do not allow the stacking to occur then you need to remove one of the units (without looking at the rules I believe that means the unit goes to the shattered box, but I'm sure Carl will be here shortly with an official answer).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
montreal
Québec
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
chomski wrote:
Hi,

can anybody help me to decipher new errata. It says:

[10.7.5] Retreats
When required to retreat, the defender must move his units two hexes further
away from the battle (i.e., they cannot zig-zag and end up retreating only one
hex further away), toward a friendly Supply Source and/or not into an
EZOC (even in a friendly unit hex) if possible, within these restrictions.


So can I retreat via friendly units which are adjecent to enemy? Thanks.


Yes you can retreat via friendly units adjacent to enemy units.

Do not forget the "if possible" part of the rule: if you can retreat without moving through friendly units adjacent to enemy units you must do so, if you can't then you are allowed to move over these friendly units. meeple
2 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Zajdel
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Forgive my Trollish comment: but it says on the box no retreat. :-)

As a matter of fact when I was looking at this game, I was hoping there would be some mechanism for deserters and some dramatic situation within the game to resolve it.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shtrafbat
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt R
United States
DFW
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Jon Zajdel wrote:
Forgive my Trollish comment: but it says on the box no retreat. :-)

As a matter of fact when I was looking at this game, I was hoping there would be some mechanism for deserters and some dramatic situation within the game to resolve it.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shtrafbat


True, but I'm sure punishment/penal battalions are just a *little* below the scope of this game... laugh
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
montreal
Québec
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Noonespecial wrote:
Jon Zajdel wrote:
Forgive my Trollish comment: but it says on the box no retreat. :-)

As a matter of fact when I was looking at this game, I was hoping there would be some mechanism for deserters and some dramatic situation within the game to resolve it.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shtrafbat


True, but I'm sure punishment/penal battalions are just a *little* below the scope of this game... laugh


Very true, but a little of the effect these battalions are included in the "Not one step back!" Soviet card.

And they will also make the same appearance, in a different event card, in this upcoming title:

Absolute War!: The Attack on Russia 1941-45
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt R
United States
DFW
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
licinius wrote:
Noonespecial wrote:
Jon Zajdel wrote:
Forgive my Trollish comment: but it says on the box no retreat. :-)

As a matter of fact when I was looking at this game, I was hoping there would be some mechanism for deserters and some dramatic situation within the game to resolve it.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shtrafbat


True, but I'm sure punishment/penal battalions are just a *little* below the scope of this game... laugh


Very true, but a little of the effect these battalions are included in the "Not one step back!" Soviet card.

And they will also make the same appearance, in a different event card, in this upcoming title:

Absolute War!: The Attack on Russia 1941-45


Oh... a sly little plug there eh Carl?

You just can't stop making games on the Eastern Front, and I somehow am unable to stop purchasing them...shake
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
montreal
Québec
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Noonespecial wrote:

You just can't stop making games on the Eastern Front, and I somehow am unable to stop purchasing them...shake


Well... this would be only my second game on that East front topic, but... Fear not!

That topic always fascinated me, and on my plans are a series of quadri-games featuring the East front. Probably one quadri-game per year of Conflict. So one for 1941, one for 1942, etc... Featuring battles like Velikiye Luki 42, Operation Thyhoon 41, Finland 39, Lenigrad 43, Karkov 42, Kursk 44, ect...

All in a small package. So two half maps (22x17) back printed in each games: four battle maps. Low counter count. Event cards etc... meeple
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.