Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Jump Drive» Forums » Rules

Subject: Clarification for Uplift Mining Moles, Mining Robots, and Mining Conglomerate rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jason Pytka
United States
Cumberland
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
These three cards offer a -1 discount toward the settlement of brown worlds. The iconography indicates brown civilian or military but the way it's worded leads me to believe that it is only intended to be applied to brown civilian (the wording [as best as I can replicate it without graphics] I would expect if it applied to both is -1 cost towards brown civilian or +1 military towards brown military).

So what was intended for these three cards? A discount toward settlement of brown civilian worlds only or help for both brown civ and military worlds?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
It's a discount. So, it only applies to Rare Elements (brown) military worlds when using a Contact Specialist.

If the intent was to be -1 cost or +1 Military vs. Rare Element worlds then the power would say so, similar to how Alien Rosetta Stone World and Alien Technology Institute do so for Alien worlds.
12 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Pytka
United States
Cumberland
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, Mr. Lehmann. The only reason why there was any ambiguity was because the little circle in the upper right corner on the brown world graphic next to the discount was half red, half black instead of completely black, so I was a little confused. Your answer confirms that it is what I thought it was. :)

Thanks again for making yourself available to clarify rules. Big fan of all the games in the "Race" family!

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
We tried to use a minimum of icons in Jump Drive (10), so the icons for colored types of worlds don't distinguish between military and non-military, see the sidebar on page 1 of the rules.

Thanks for your kind words.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Edwards
United States
Havertown
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
I'm curious, is there a reason the moons were given the half-red border rather than the worlds in these icons?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
This was done for the reasons I've already stated in this thread:
* To have a single icon that means *all brown worlds*.
* To minimize the number of icons in this game.
* Because discounts do apply to military worlds when using a Contact Specialist to pay for them.

If we did this for the world portion of the icon, we would have to thicken the border quite a bit (since red and brown tend to blend into each other). Rather than complicate the icon too much, we decided to do this just for the moon in order that the brown color stood out for the icon as a whole.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Edwards
United States
Havertown
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
That last paragraph is the only part I wasn't sure about, thanks for clarifying.

Also, thanks for the great game. I was worried that it would be too simplistic compared to Race, but I find that it condenses some of my favorite parts of that game very elegantly.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
viszla HR
msg tools
Avatar
mb
Tom Lehmann wrote:
This was done for the reasons I've already stated in this thread:
* To have a single icon that means *all brown worlds*.
* To minimize the number of icons in this game.
* Because discounts do apply to military worlds when using a Contact Specialist to pay for them.

If we did this for the world portion of the icon, we would have to thicken the border quite a bit (since red and brown tend to blend into each other). Rather than complicate the icon too much, we decided to do this just for the moon in order that the brown color stood out for the icon as a whole.


IMHO that was very bad decision.
And not a single mention of that "half red moon circle" in the rules. So confusing for a new player like me.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Colwell
United States
Portage
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I was confused also. The half red and black moon should be clarified.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
waut Dooghe
Belgium
meerhout
antwerp
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Does the discount count if you colonize a brown planet in the same turn as you play the mining robots?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John
United Kingdom
Southampton
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, powers can be used on the same turn. The development is played first though so a world which gives a discount on developing can't be used until the following turn.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Wautd wrote:
Does the discount count if you colonize a brown planet in the same turn as you play the mining robots?

Yes. From the rules, Order: "A development's powers or icons cannot affect its own placement, but *may affect placing a world that round*." (emphasis added)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.