Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Codex: Card-Time Strategy – Deluxe Set» Forums » Rules

Subject: What cards are Yours and not? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Fredrik Leander
msg tools
I mostly ask because I would like to know how Drakk Ramhorns midband ability (Your units get frenzy 1) work together with his spell Kidnapping (Gain control of an opposing tech 0, I, or II unit until end of turn. Ready it and it gets haste until end of turn.)

Will the kidnapped unit get Frenzy 1 from Drakk?

http://codexcarddb.com/card/kidnapping
http://codexcarddb.com/card/drakk_ramhorn
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Austin Andersen
United States
Berrien Springs
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, at least not to the way I understand it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Churchill
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambs
flag msg tools
designer
"If we knew what we were building, it wouldn't be called research!"
badge
Sufficiently advanced mathematics is indistinguishable from magic
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'd expect "your units" translates into properly templated rules as "units you control", and therefore units stolen with Kidnapping or Community Service etc would get the bonus, just like you can attack with them or patrol with them or sacrifice them etc.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vash TheStampede
Saudi Arabia
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Alex is correct
Your units means the units you control
Kidnapped unit will benefit from Drakk frenzy
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Maisonneuve
Canada
Quebec
Quebec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Indeed kidnapped unit get the Frenzy. Unless "owned" is specified, "your" refer to stuff you control.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Sirlin
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
For reference, the rules are here: http://sirlingames.com/rulebooks/

In the full rulebook for Codex, page 18:

Owner vs. Controller

Cards you “own” are the cards you started the game with. Usually, the cards you own and cards you control are the same, but some effects let you take control of an opponent’s card. In this case, you now “control” the card but the opponent still “owns” it. Effects that return a card to someone’s hand say to return it to the owner’s hand because otherwise you might have a card with someone else’s card sleeves in your hand.

Whenever an effect doesn’t specify owner or controller, it means controller. Owner is so rare that we spell that out specifically when it’s needed. Things like “Your units get +1/+1” mean “units you control get +1/+1” not “units you OWN get +1/+1”.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.